IPL News : BBC Sport picks all-time IPL XI, Rohit Sharma omitted

IPL News,IPL 2020,IPL,IPL 13,Rohit Sharma,Rohit Sharma omitted

The BBC Sport did a poll to pick the all-time Indian Premier League XI (IPL XI). The Indian Premier League is the richest and most glamorous tournament in world cricket. But who are the best Twenty20 cricketers to have played in the IPL since it launched in 2008, that question has intrigued every cricket fan all around the globe. To find the answers, BBC Sport and The Doosra podcast asked fans to pick the all-time IPL XI. Almost 25,000 fans voted – and the results are in. Here is the dream team…

Fans have decided to go for Chris Gayle and David Warner as openers which means no place in the eleven for Rohit Sharma. Royal Challengers Bengaluru captain Virat Kohli at number 3 and his team mate AB De Villiers were picked at number 4 by more than 90% of the cricket fans. As expected MS Dhoni has been picked at number 5 in the all time IPL XI with KKR’S Andre Russel at number 6. CSK’S Dwayne Bravo is the choice for number 7 position followed by Kolkata Knight Riders Sunil Narine at 8. Mumbai Indians pace due Jasprit Bumrah & Lasith Malinga has been picked by fans to take up the responsibility of opening attack. Sunrisers Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the 3rd pace bowler in the team.

1. Chris Gayle (picked by 80% of readers)

Matches: 125; Runs: 4,484; Average: 41.03; Strike-rate: 151; Highest score: 175*

Did you know? Gayle’s 175 not out from 66 balls for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013 remains the highest score ever recorded in professional T20 cricket.

2. David Warner (67%)

Matches: 126; Runs: 4,706; Average: 43.17; Strike-rate: 142; Highest score: 126

Did you know? The Australian was the leading IPL run-scorer last season with 692, almost 100 more than the next most prolific batsman.

3. Virat Kohli (92%)

Matches: 177; Runs: 5,412; Average: 37.84; Strike-rate: 132; Highest score: 113

Did you know? Kohli scored 973 runs in the 2016 IPL at an average of 81.10, the highest tally in a single season.

4. AB de Villiers (93%)

Matches: 154; Runs: 4,395; Average: 39.95; Strike-rate: 151; Highest score: 133*

Did you know? For those players who have scored more than 2,000 runs in the IPL, only Virender Sehwag (155) has a better strike-rate than De Villiers.

5. MS Dhoni (82%)

Matches: 190; Runs: 4,432; Average: 42.20; Strike-rate: 137.85; Highest score: 84; Dismissals: 136

Did you know? Dhoni has scored 505 runs from slogs in the IPL, 121 more than anyone else.

6. Andre Russell (54%)

Matches: 64; Runs: 1,538; Average: 27.96; Strike-rate: 186; Highest score: 88*; Wickets: 55; Average: 27.96; Economy: 8.88

Did you know? 85.5% of Russell’s 510 IPL runs in 2019 came from boundaries, the highest share of any batsman.

7. Dwayne Bravo (52%)

Matches: 134; Runs: 1,483; Average: 23:17; Strike-rate: 128; Highest score: 70*; Wickets: 147; Average: 24.60; Economy: 8.39

Did you know? Only Lasith Malinga (with 170) has more IPL wickets than Bravo, who has had more catches dropped than any other bowler (28).

8. Sunil Narine (52%)

Matches: 110; Runs: 771; Average: 17.52; Strike-rate: 168; Highest score: 75; Wickets: 122; Average: 23.31; Economy: 6.67

Did you know? Narine has taken the most wickets for Kolkata Knight Riders (122) and has the highest batting strike-rate (184) as an opener in IPL history.

9. Lasith Malinga (93%)

Matches: 122; Wickets: 170; Average: 19.80; Economy: 7.14

Did you know? The all-time leading wicket-taker in the IPL has also bowled 525 yorkers, 325 more than anybody else.

10. Jasprit Bumrah (64%)

Matches: 77; Wickets: 82; Average: 26.59; Economy: 7.55

Did you know? Bumrah bowled a competition-high 172 balls at the death (overs 17-20) in the 2019 IPL, with an economy rate of 7.7.

11. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (43%)

Matches: 117; Wickets: 133; Average: 23:71; Economy: 7.55

Did you know? Kumar is Sunrisers Hyderabad’s leading wicket-taker with 109 and is the only bowler to pick up a five-wicket haul in their colours, against King’s XI Punjab in 2017.

And who missed out…?

Ravindra Jadeja (42%), Jos Buttler (37%), Harbhajan Singh (32%), Rohit Sharma (26%), Kieron Pollard (24%), Suresh Raina (24%), Brendon McCullum (24%), Yuzvendra Chahal (22%), Ravichandran Ashwin (21%), Amit Mishra (19%), Yuvraj Singh (13%), Hardik Pandya (15%), Shane Watson (13%), Irfan Pathan (6%), Piyush Chawla (5%), Robin Uthappa (4%), Shikhar Dhawan (3%).

Also Read: Cricket Business : BCCI treasurer declares ‘won’t push for T20 WC postponement for IPL…