IPL MONEYBALL – The only player to win 3 consecutive IPL titles

MS Dhoni IPL 2018,indian premier league,ipl 2018 final,chennai super kings IPL 2018,ipl 2018

With the world’s top-gun cricket giants playing, every cricket expert knows that it is extremely hard to win the coveted trophy of the Indian Premier League. But there is one player who has made winning IPL trophy a habit.

His knack of winning the IPL trophy is so strong that this year he managed his third consecutive IPL title with his team. Yes, you read it right he has been winning IPL trophy for the last 3 years.

No, it is not Chennai’s talismanic captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni or any other big name of the global cricket. But it is the Indian spinner, Karn Sharma who has become the first player in the IPL history to win three consecutive IPL titles after Chennai Super Kings latest triumph in IPL 2018 finals.

On the previous two occasions, Karn Sharma was a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians title-winning seasons in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

He even tweeted a photo, with the helmets of the three teams he has played for.

The 30-year-old who was picked for Rs. 5 Crore this IPL season by the Chennai Super Kings has proved to be the lucky mascot for the teams he has played in the past. According to the Insidesport.co’s Moneyball, Karn stands at number 62 in the overall salary ranks of IPL with 19.67 crores career salary over 7 years of his IPL career. He has till date played for 4 teams and out of it with 3 he has won the IPL titles in last 3 years. The only unlucky one being Royal Challengers Bangalore team.

In the just finished season, he wasn’t a regular feature in the side, Karn did play the final in place of the experienced Harbhajan Singh. Later on Stephen Fleming revealed that it was indeed MS Dhoni’s idea to bring in the leg-spinner. “If you look at the last few games we played, Harbhajan didn’t bowl a lot, so it was a case of what the skipper felt. He wanted a good option against right-handers,” revealed Fleming.

“There was a lot of discussion, on whether to open with spinners, their combination. Both Harbhajan and Karn have got wickets. It was the captain’s choice,” he added further.

Karn Sharma repaid the captain’s faith as he got the big wicket of Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson in the final. Karn picked 4 wickets in the 6 matches he played and was expensive with an economy rate of 9.36.