Tuesday, January 25, 2022

IPL 2022 Retention: From MS Dhoni’s big sacrifice to uncapped players lotteries- TOP 5 Takeaways from IPL Retentions

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

IPL 2022 Retention: TOP 5 Takeaways from IPL Retentions- The IPL 2021 Retention have been finally revealed. A number of stars including MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been retained. A lot of surprises were on the cards– CSK captain Dhoni sacrificed slab 1 of Rs 16 crore while a number of IPL uncapped players garnered attention with a huge amount of money. Here we take a look at 5 big takeaways from IPL 2022 Retentions. 

IPL 2022 Retention: From MS Dhoni’s big sacrifice to uncapped players lotteries- TOP 5 Takeaways from IPL Retentions

IPL 2022 Retentions- Final list

1) MS Dhoni’s Big Sacrifice: Instead of securing the biggest pay cheque for himself, MS Dhoni & CSK decided to retain Ravindra Jadeja by giving him Rs 16 Crore salary. Dhoni has been retained for 12 Crores. Dhoni is already the richest IPL player to have graced the game. Jadeja’s price has now skyrocketed which is even twice than his previous price of Rs 7 crore. Dhoni has accepted a pay cut of Rs 3 crore.

MS Dhoni full IPL salary

R Jadeja full IPL salary

2) IPL Legends Not RequiredFranchises did not get emotional and instead of retaining legends of yesterday have decided to invest in youth who can carry the team for the next 3 seasons. Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Shikhar Dhawan, Faf Du Plessis – all have been released by their franchises irrespective of being proven performers.

While Faf du Plessis scored 633 runs– only a couple of runs behind Orange Cap winner Ruturaj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo has been a big architect behind CSK’s IPL victories. Shikhar Dhawan was the top scorer for DC while big-hitter Chris Gayle was ignored by Punjab Kings. All of these players are 35+ or above.

  • Faf du Plessis- 37 years
  • Shikhar Dhawan- 35 years
  • Chris Gayle- 42 years
  • Dwayne Bravo- 38 years

3) Players are the Real BossDespite their best attempts to retain top players, franchises failed to fulfil their expectations and had to let go of their favourite players. KL Rahul, Rashid Khan, Shreyas Iyer all decided to be in the auction instead of getting retained.

KL Rahul, Rashid Khan and Shreyas Iyer have parted ways with their IPL franchises. They will look for big bucks in IPL 2022 Auctions. Rahul and Iyer, in particular, are captain choice and could get even Rs 20 crore+. Rashid Khan, meanwhile, is expecting a staggering high from Rs 9 crore.

IPL 2022: Heartbreaks for all 8 franchises, check 1 player they love the most but could not retain

4) Franchises call RETENTION SYSTEM UNFAIR: ‘You groom the players and then you let them go, it is unfair’ said Parth Jindal, the co-owner of Delhi Capitals. Most of the franchises were disappointed that they have to let go of the players who they have groomed over the years.

The IPL 2022 Retention rules allowed only 4 players with no RTM option. It meant that a number of franchises with strengthened squads failed to form a formidable squad. The price range of retaining 4 players for a maximum amount of Rs 42 crore/ 90 crore played a big role.

5) UNCAPPED Players Lotteries: Yashaswi Jaiswal (RR), Arshdeep Singh (PBKS), Abdul Samad (SRH) & Umran Malik (SRH) – all 4 are uncapped players and all 4 have got biggest pay cheque of their lives as they were retained by their franchisers for 4 Crores each.

  • Yashashvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals)- 19 years
  • Arshdeep Singh (Punjab Kings)- 22 years
  • Abdul Samad (Sunrisers Hyderabad)- 20 years
  • Umran Malik (Sunrisers Hyderabad)- 22 years
  • Arshdeep Singh was phenomenal in IPL 2022. He was the next best bowler for PBKS after pace spearhead Mohammad Shami.
  • Umran Malik was IPL fastest pacer and saw a staggering rise of IPL salary from Rs 10 lakh to Rs 4 crore.
  • Yashashvi Jaiswal and Abdul Samad’s retentions were a big surprise on the cards.

IPL 2022 Retention: From MS Dhoni’s big sacrifice to uncapped players lotteries- TOP 5 Takeaways from IPL Retentions

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad
Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer
SunRisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj
Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal
Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

IPL 2022 Retentions LIVE- Surprise retentions: MI, SRH, CSK, RCB, RR, KKR, DC and PBKS shocking retentions

For more sports news and updates, follow us at insidesport.in
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -