IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals release skipper Steve Smith, makes Sanju Samson new captain; Check full RR retained and released players 2021 list

IPl 2021 – Full RR retained and released players 2021 list: Rajasthan Royals (RR) have released Steve Smith for the upcoming IPL 2021 auction. Smith’s weak impact as a leader and batsman featured prominently in the 2020 season review conducted by the franchise. “Yes, Smith has been released. It went down to the wire, to be honest. We had discussions on the matter and the call was taken today itself,” the source explained.

Smith played all the 14 league matches, scoring 311 runs at a strike rate of 131, including three half-centuries.

Meanwhile, Manoj Badale, RR’s co-owner, confirms that Sanju Samson will take over from Smith as the franchise’s captain. He also says that they’ve appointed Kumar Sangakkara as their team director.

The inaugural IPL champions currently have a purse of 14.75 crore. Rajasthan have decided to retain England pacer Jofra Archer, wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, and youngster Yashasvi Jaiswal.

CATCH IPL 2021 Retention List LIVE BLOG HERE

Here is full RR retained and released 2021 players list:

Released players: 

  • Steve Smith
  • Oshane Thamos
  • Varun Aaron
  • Tom Curran

Retained Players:

  • Sanju Samson (Captain)
  • Manan Vohra
  • David Miller
  • Jos Buttler
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Robin Uthappa
  • Anuj Rawat
  • Ben Stokes
  • Rahul Tewatia
  • Mahipal Lomror
  • Riyan Parag
  • Jofra Archer
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Karik Tyagi
  • Shreyas Gopal
  • Mayank Markande
  • Andrew Tye

Rajasthan Royals now have Rs 34.85 crore in their wallet for IPL 2021 Auction.