IPL 2021: Most Sixes in IPL Powerplay since 2020

IPL 2021: Most Sixes in IPL Powerplay since 2020
IPL 2021: Most Sixes in IPL Powerplay since 2020

IPL 2021: Most Sixes in IPL Powerplay since 2020- IPL 2020 has been postponed due to rising cases of covid-19 in India and breach of bio bubble created for IPL by BCCI. Before the suspension 29 matches were played in IPL 2021. In the first half of the IPL, KL Rahul was at the top of the list for hiting most sixes followed by Jonny Bairstow. Both the batsman are openers and it is very important for a team to utilize the power play in order to post a big total on the board. Thus openers are given the responsibility to go and start taking on the bowlers from the ball one.

In this article, we at Inside Sport will take you through the list of batsman with the most Sixes in IPL Powerplay since 2020.

Also Read:IPL 2021: Australian stars to pocket full $18M salary even if they don’t return for remaining IPL matches

Jonny Bairstow (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – 17

Ever since Jonny Bairstow started opening for the SRH, the team started looking even more dangerous. The explosive batsman just loves batting on Indian pitches, especially in powerplays. Since 2020, Jonny has hit 17 sixes in powerplay opening the batting for Hyderabad. Not just the fast bowlers but he plays against spinners on the front foot, making him a dangerous batsman in the powerplay.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians) – 16

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma did not have a great IPL season last year and this year as well he was looking off colour but still holds the second position in this list as he has hit 16 sixes in the powerplay. The MI talisman, who loves playing against pace, brings out his pull short every time the pitch is having any bounce while he steps out against spinners to hit them off the park.

Quinton de Kock (Mumbai Indians) – 14

Another Mumbai Indians opener find himself on this list, Rohit Sharma’s partner Quinton de Kock has hit as many as 14 sixes in IPL powerplay since 2020. de Kock played a vital role in Mumbai’ journey to the title last year. Thus even after a disappointing start in IPL 2021, he was backed by the team management. Playing on the flat track of Mumbai de Kock alongside Rohit gave Mumbai solid starts on many occasion.

Prithvi Shaw (Delhi Capitals) – 12

Delhi Capitals opener Prithvi Shaw is going through his best form, after a wonderful Vijay Hazare and Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy the Mumbai lad has extended his golden run in IPL as well. Since 2020 he has hit as many as 12 sixes in the powerplay. His ability to time the ball to perfection helps him hit sixes against pacers as well as spinners.2

KL Rahul (Punjab Kings) – 12

Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul also features in the list with 12 sixes in powerplay over since 2020. Rahul became a permanent opener ever since he was traded with Punjab franchises. Last year he won the Orange Cap for scoring the most runs in IPL 2021. Rahul’s ability to time the ball beautiful lets him hit sixes at will. This year as well Rahul was looking in good touch and was in the race for Orange Cap.