IPL 2021, DC vs MI: On the last ball of the first over in Delhi Capitals’ innings, the memories of Kyle Jamieson’s catch came back to haunt cricket fans. Off Trent Boult’s delivery, Shikhar Dhawan’s shot went to Hardik Pandya at short cover. With an excellent effort, Hardik dived to take the catch only to be ruled out by the third umpire. In reversing the on-field umpire’s soft signal, it evoked the memories of Jamieson’s catch against Bangladesh in the 2nd ODI a month ago.
While at first glance, it looked like an impressive fielding effort from Hardik Pandya, who had to make a full-fledged dive to catch the ball, the TV replays had a different say. Hardik did catch the ball but the ball touched the ground and he did not have full control of the catch, turning over the soft signal. Hardik was clearly not happy but he did not react the way Kyle Jamieson did.
IPL 2021, DC vs MI: Hardik Pandya’s catch evokes memories of Kyle Jamieson’s catch
On March 23 in the 2nd ODI between host New Zealand and Bangladesh, Kyle Jamieson’s fantastic caught and bowl was overturned by the third umpire following minutes of deliberation. The tall pacer managed to take the catch of Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal, diving down at the perfect moment before the ball touched the ground. But it was overturned.
— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) March 23, 2021
The third-umpire, Wayne Knights gave an in-depth look at the catch and decided that Kyle Jamieson was not in full control of the catch as the leather of the ball touched the surface. Jamieson was not a happy man while his New Zealand teammates were left stunned. Knight in his decision said, “I’ve got the ball on the ground and the player is not fully in control.”
Jamieson’s over-reaction and protests led to a 15% fine as the umpires and match referee deemed it was in breach of Article 2.8 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. It describes “showing dissent at an umpire’s decision during an international match.” Furthermore, Kyle Jamieson had one demerit point has been added to the disciplinary record as it was the second offence in a 24-month period, taking his cumulative demerit points to two.
IPL 2021, DC vs MI: What does the law say? Was Shikhar Dhawan out?
As for MCC law, “The striker is out caught if a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a no-ball, touches his/her bat without having previously been in contact with any fielder, and is subsequently held by a fielder as a fair catch, as described in 33.2 and 33.3 before it touches the ground.”
Furthermore, rule 33.3 says, “The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement.”
Going by the lawbook, neither Shikhar Dhawan nor Tamim Iqbal was out as both times, the fielders — Hardik Pandya and Kyle Jamieson — let the ball touch the surface, thus losing control over it.
Earlier in the match, Amit Mishra’s 4/24 bowling figure helped Delhi Capitals restrict Mumbai Indians to 137/9 in 20 overs at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.