IPL 2021: David Warner clarifies ‘groin injured’ but will play IPL 2021

IPL 2021: Sunrisers Captain David Warner clarifies on IPL 2021- Australia’s opening batsman & Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner has issued a clarification regarding his ‘groin injury’. The swashbuckling opener said that despite his injury, he will start playing from March onwards. Taking to Twitter, Warner wrote, “Just to clarify a comment I made on commentary last night, that “My Groin” will need on-going treatment and will have an annoying pain for at least 6-9 months.”

But Warner said that he will resume play for New South Wales in Australia’s domestic cricket next month.

Also Read: ‘Cricket Australia failed to acknowledge David Warner’s leadership capabilities’: Michael Clarke

“I am returning to play for NSW on the 4th March 2021 #horsesmouth,” he added.

The 34-year-old had sustained the injury while playing the ODI series against India in November. He had missed the last ODI and T20I series after his injury.

“I am almost back to full 100 per cent sprinting in a straight line. This next week is getting back to fielding, picking up, throwing, very difficult that was [in the] last couple of weeks, even trying to throw,” Warner had told Fox Cricket during First T20I against New Zealand on Monday.

Also Read:IPL 2021: Good news for IPL 2021, Online trading company GROWW to join IPL as Official Partner 

“Now it’s all about lateral, running between wickets, building that up. It’s just the tendon that has got that slight tear in it now. It’s going to aggravate me for the next six to nine months but I am sure the medicos will help me out there,” he added.

Warner plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. If his problem ‘aggravate’ and he is forced to pull out of the IPL 2021 then his absence might force SRH to fine a backup opener and skipper. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson might take the leadership role.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad for IPL 2021: David Warner, Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jason Holder, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Mitchell Marsh, Mohammad Nabi, Priyam Garg, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Vijay Shankar, Virat Singh, Wriddhiman Saha, Jagadeesha Suchith, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb Ur Rahman