IPL 2020: Warner back as SunRisers Hyderabad skipper

David Warner,SunRisers Hyderabad,IPL 2020,Indian Premier League,Sports Business News

SunRisers Hyderabad have reinstated David Warner as skipper for the Indian Premier League 2020.

The Australian hard-hitting batsman, Warner had let the Orange Army to victory in the 2016 IPL season. However, he was replaced with Kane Williamson in 2018 due to a year-long bane for the ball tampering scandal.

Wrestling fans can catch Live Streaming, Highlights, News, Videos, Photos, Results and Rankings on WrestlingTV

The Australian opener will replace New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who led the side for two seasons. Warner though represented Hyderabad in the IPL 2019, but Williamson was retained as the skipper.

Sunrisers Hyderabad tweeted a video of a happy Warner and made the announcement.

“I’m thrilled to be given the captaincy for this coming IPL 2020,” Warner said in the video. “I’m extremely grateful to be given the opportunity to lead the team once again.

“I’d like to thank Kane and Bhuvi for the way you guys led throughout the last couple of years, you guys did an outstanding job. And I’ll be leaning on you guys for support and your insight to the game as well. And to the management thank you once again for giving me this opportunity. And I’ll try my very, very best to lifting that IPL Trophy this year,” he added.

Also Read: IPL 2020: One-off All-Stars game to be held after final

Warner has made big contributions with the bat since joining the side in 2014. In the debut season, he made an instant impact for the franchisee, scoring 528 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 140.80. He was named captain for the 2015 edition, a role that further accentuated his batting stats.

Warner had made 562, 848, 642 and 692 runs in the four seasons with the SRH. His performance placed him fourth in the list of the tournament’s all-time highest run getters, behind the Indian trio of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma.

Warner will now pair up with a new head coach Trevor Bayliss, who had guided the Kolkata Knight Riders to the 2014 IPL title triumph.

Sunrisers Hyderabad open their campaign at home against defending champions Mumbai Indians on April 1.

Wrestling fans can catch Live Streaming, Highlights, News, Videos, Photos, Results and Rankings on WrestlingTV