IPL 2020: Top 5 controversies that spiced up the IPL 13
The Dream11 IPL 2020, after going on for almost two gruelling months in the UAE, got its champion as Mumbai Indians defeated…
The Dream11 IPL 2020, after going on for almost two gruelling months in the UAE, got its champion as Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals to lift the coveted trophy in Dubai. It was MI”s record-extending fifth IPL title.
Meanwhile, like every other season of the cash-rich league, IPL 13 also witnessed quite a few controversies which raised many eyebrows.
Here we take a look at the top five controversies which made headlines during the IPL 2020:
Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI Punjab short-run controversy
DC and KXIP open their IPL 2020 campaign against each other and the match was nothing less than a thriller as it got tied and went to the Super Over.
However, before the match went into Super Over, the TV footage showed that square leg umpire Menon had erred in calling Chris Jordan for a ‘short run’ in the third ball of the 19th over, bowled by Kagiso Rabada.
The TV replays showed that Jordan’s bat was inside the crease when he completed the first run, starting from the non-striker’s end.
However to KXIP’s horror, Menon gestured that Jordan has not completed the run and only one run was added to Mayank Agarwal and the Punjab team’s total. The decision was not reversed despite technological evidence that it was a wrong call.
In the final over, Punjab needed 13 runs to win and Agarwal managed 12 runs in the first three balls.
If that one ‘short run’ was credited to their total, Punjab would have won with three balls to spare but they lost two wickets in the final two balls after a dot fourth ball and it spilled to a Super Over, which the Kings XI lost.
Post the match, former India and KXIP batsman Virender Sehwag lashed out at Menon for his call.
Umpire calls back Tom Curran after giving him out
IPL 2020 witnessed yet another brain fade during a match between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Wednesday, September 23.
During the 18th over of RR’s innings, Tom Curran was given out LBW by the on-field umpire Chettithody Shamshuddin. An unconvinced Curran expressed his displeasure about the decision and immediately asked for a review, as he gestured that the ball had hit his thigh pad. the on-field umpires decided to send it upstairs after deeming it out earlier.
But since the Royals had already utilised their referral earlier in the game, Curran had to walk back to the dressing room.
However, the umpires then came together to discuss the wicket and looked to be discussing the decision. CSK skipper Dhoni too approached them, seemingly to ask how an out decision could be reviewed.
Ultimately, the on-field umpires asked for the catch by Dhoni to be reviewed, signalling that their out call was for a caught-behind and not an LBW.
The third umpire watched the video replays and it affirmed that there wasn’t any connection between the bat and the ball. Moreover, the leather didn’t even carry to the Dhoni’s gloves. The decision was eventually reversed, and the third umpire allowed Curran to bat once again. The whole episode sparked controversy.
Anushka Sharma slams legendary Sunil Gavaskar for his ‘distasteful’ remark
The legendary Sunil Gavaskar on Friday found himself in the midst of a controversy for making an unsavoury comment against Virat Kohli and his wife Anushka Sharma after the Indian captain’s forgettable outing in the IPL.
After dropping two catches, Kohli, undoubtedly one of the best when it comes to chases, failed with the bat, managing just a run off five balls against Kings XI Punjab.
In the commentary box, Gavaskar came up with a comment involving Kohli’s actor wife Anushka.
The remark was in bad taste and did not go down well with the RCB skipper’s fans, with some of them urging the BCCI to remove Gavaskar from the commentary panel.
Later in the day, Anushka Sharma took to Instagram and gave a befitting reply to Gavaskar.
“That, Mr Gavaskar, your message is distasteful is a fact but I would love for you to explain why you thought of making such a sweeping statement on a wife accusing her of her husband’s game?
‘I’m sure over the years you have respected the private lives of every cricketer while commentating on the game. Don’t you think you should have equal amount of respect for me and us?
‘I’m sure you can have many other words and sentences in your mind to use to comment on my husband’s performance from last night or are your words only relevant if you use my name in the process?
‘Its 2020 and things still don’t change for me. When will I stop getting dragged into cricket and stop being used to pass sweeping statements? Respected Mr Gavaskar, you are a legend whose name stands tall in this gentleman’s game. Just wanted to tell you what I felt when I heard you say this,” Anushka Sharma posted on Instagram stories,” Anushka posted on Instagram stories.
Paul Reiffel changes his ‘wide’ decision after seeing furious MS Dhoni
The 19th over of the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) chase against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the match no. 29 of Indian Premier League 2020 on Tuesday witnessed a controversial incident when umpire Paul Reiffel surprisingly decided against calling a delivery wide during a crucial juncture of the game.
In the penultimate over of the game, Shardul Thakur bowled a wide yorker and replay showed that the ball was outside the tramline.
Umpire Reiffel, who played 35 Tests for Australia before retiring, appeared to start the signal for a wide — both arms outstretched at shoulder height —when CSK skipper MS Dhoni began protesting.
Reiffel then seemed to change his mind midway through the signal and the ball went down as legitimate in the crucial over of Hyderabad’s unsuccessful chase of 168.
Controversial DRS call involving David Warner divides opinion
An umpiring decision involving the DRS system to deem David Warner out caused controversy during the IPL 2020 eliminator between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad, with many, including commentator, Pommie Mbangwa, considering it an incorrect decision.
In the sixth over, bowled by Mohammed Siraj, trouble came brewing for SRH as Warner was adjudged to be dismissed for a caught behind. Although the initial decision was a not out, upon RCB’s review, the third umpire decided that there was enough contact with Warner’s glove and decided it was an out.
Warner went to defend an inswinging delivery and the DRS caught a sound as the ball went through the batsman’s bat and body, specifically under the glove and over the thigh pad.
The umpire, however, wasn’t interested, but a pumped-up Virat Kohli opted for the DRS review two seconds before the meter timed out. The soft signal was not out.
The DRS caught a sound as the ball went through the batsman’s bat and body, specifically under the glove and over the thigh pad and it looked like that ball brushed Warner’s clothes. However, after viewing the replay several times, third umpire decided that there was enough contact with the opener’s glove and decided it was an out.
The decision left cricket pundits in shock and commentator Mbangwa was heard saying “I think he (umpire) has got it wrong. Everything happening way too close – with pad, and glove, and tummy, and shirt… they [RCB] were desperate, they just needed it.”
Also, many argued there wasn’t a conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field umpire’s decision and the benefit of the doubt should have been given to the batsman.