IPL 2020: Top 3 controversial decisions by umpires in IPL 13

The Dream11 IPL 2020 is done with its league stage and playoffs and now the tournament is just left with its final match which will be played between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals on November 10 in Dubai.

Notably, the IPL 2020 witnessed some controversial decisions by umpires which changed the course of games.

Here we take a look at the top three controversial decisions in IPL 2020:

Nitin Menon’s ‘short-run’ call during DC vs KXIP

Probably the mother of all controversies of IPL 2020 would be that one-short run of KXIP which cost them two crucial points against the Delhi Capitals.

DC and KXIP open their IPL 2020 campaign against each other and the match was nothing less than a thriller as it got tied and went to the Super Over.

However, before the match went into Super Over, the TV footage showed that square leg umpire Nitin Menon had erred in calling Chris Jordan for a ‘short run’ in the third ball of the 19th over, bowled by Kagiso Rabada.

The TV replays showed that Jordan’s bat was inside the crease when he completed the first run, starting from the non-striker’s end.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 Most Sixes and Fours: Ishan Kishan leads most 6’s tally, Shikhar Dhawan has hit most 4’s

However to KXIP’s horror, Menon gestured that Jordan has not completed the run and only one run was added to Mayank Agarwal and the Punjab team’s total. The decision was not reversed despite technological evidence that it was a wrong call.

In the final over, Punjab needed 13 runs to win and Agarwal managed 12 runs in the first three balls.

If that one ‘short run’ was credited to their total, Punjab would have won with three balls to spare but they lost two wickets in the final two balls after a dot fourth ball and it spilled to a Super Over, which the Kings XI lost.

Post the match, former India and KXIP batsman Virender Sehwag lashed out at Menon for his call.

Paul Reiffel changes his ‘wide’ decision after seeing furious MS Dhoni

The 19th over of the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) chase against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the match no. 29 of Indian Premier League 2020 on Tuesday witnessed a controversial incident when umpire Paul Reiffel surprisingly decided against calling a delivery wide during a crucial juncture of the game.

In the penultimate over of the game, Shardul Thakur bowled a wide yorker and replay showed that the ball was outside the tramline.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 DC vs RR: Anrich Nortje bowls the fastest ball in IPL history, Steyn’s 8 year old record broken

Umpire Reiffel, who played 35 Tests for Australia before retiring, appeared to start the signal for a wide — both arms outstretched at shoulder height —when CSK skipper MS Dhoni began protesting.

Reiffel then seemed to change his mind midway through the signal and the ball went down as legitimate in the crucial over of Hyderabad’s unsuccessful chase of 168.

Chettithody Shamshuddin calls back Tom Curran after giving him out

IPL 2020 witnessed yet another brain fade during a match between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Wednesday, September 23.

During the 18th over of RR’s innings, Tom Curran was given out LBW by the on-field umpire Chettithody Shamshuddin. An unconvinced Curran expressed his displeasure about the decision and immediately asked for a review, as he gestured that the ball had hit his thigh pad. the on-field umpires decided to send it upstairs after deeming it out earlier.

But since the Royals had already utilised their referral earlier in the game, Curran had to walk back to the dressing room.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020: Have top 10 IPL 2020’s highest-salaried players justified their price tag?

However, the umpires then came together to discuss the wicket and looked to be discussing the decision. CSK skipper Dhoni too approached them, seemingly to ask how an out decision could be reviewed.

Ultimately, the on-field umpires asked for the catch by Dhoni to be reviewed, signalling that their out call was for a caught-behind and not an LBW.

The third umpire watched the video replays and it affirmed that there wasn’t any connection between the bat and the ball. Moreover, the leather didn’t even carry to the Dhoni’s gloves. The decision was eventually reversed, and the third umpire allowed Curran to bat once again. The whole episode sparked controversy.