IPL 2020 Prize Money : Mumbai Indians to get just 10 Cr instead of 20 Cr in IPL 2019

Dream11 IPL 2020 Prize Money: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2020 final to clinch the coveted trophy. However, MI will have to bear the brunt of Covid-19 as back in March the Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) had decided to reduce the prize money for IPL 2020. Now IPL 2020 winner MI will only get 50% of what they earn by winning IPL 2019.

ALSO READ: Mumbai Indians win IPL 2020 trophy, record 5th IPL title for Rohit Sharma’s team

How much will IPL 2020 winner, runners-up will take home this year?

Back in March, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) implemented strict cost-cutting measures due to coronavirus pandemic with the notable decision being IPL 2020 champions’ prize money. In a circular sent to all IPL franchises, the Indian cricket board notified that instead of a whopping Rs 20 crore, the 2020 champion team will now receive Rs 10 crore only, while the runners-up will get Rs 6.25 crore instead of Rs 12.5 crore.

“The financial rewards have been reworked as a part of the cost-cutting measures. The champions will get Rs 10 crore instead of Rs 20 crore. The runners-up will get Rs 6.25 crore from earlier Rs 12.5 crore,” a BCCI notification read.

The two losing qualifiers will now get Rs 4.375 crore each.

“The franchises are all in good health. They also have multiple ways like sponsorships to bolster their income. Hence the decision on prize money was taken,” a senior BCCI source said.

Notably, BCCI didn’t reveal the figures for the Orange Cap holders, the Purple Cap holders, the emerging players this year, but they were handsomely rewarded in 2019.

The Orange Cap winner (most runs) and the Purple Cap winner (most wickets) earned Rs 10 lakh each last year.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 Purple Cap: Kagiso Rabada wins Purple Cap, Jasprit Bumrah finishes second in the leading wicket-taker tally

Notably, Kings XI Punjab’s KL Rahul bagged the Orange Cap with 670 runs in his tally, while DC’s Kagiso Rabada won the Purple Cap as he clinched 30 wickets in IPL 2020.