IPL 2020 MI vs RCB: Jasprit Bumrah becomes 1st Indian pacer to make ‘double century’ in T20; Check out how

IPL 2020 MI vs RCB: Mumbai Indians pacer Jasprit Bumrah was on song on Wednesday as he clinched three wickets against Royal Challengers Bangalore while giving away just 14 runs in his four overs in the match no. 48 of Indian Premier League 2020. In the process, Bumrah also became the first Indian pacer to pick up 200 T20 wickets.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 Purple Cap: Jasprit Bumrah jumps to second position, now just three wickets behind Purple Cap holder Rabada

Notably, the 26-year-old’s 200th T20 wicket was also his 100th IPL wicket and he removed none other than RCB skipper Virat Kohli to achieve the milestone.

Incidentally, Kohli was also Bumrah’s first IPL wicket.

Meanwhile, Bumrah became the 16th bowler and 13th Indian to bag 100 IPL wickets. He also became the third-youngest to the mark having reached the feat at the age of 26 and 372 days. Piyush Chawla is the fastest having reached the milestone at the age of 26 and 117 days.

ALSO READ: IPL 2020 Orange Cap: Devdutt Padikkal enters top 5 in Orange Cap tally

Overall, Bumrah became the 41st bowler and sixth Indian to complete 200 wickets in T20 cricket. All other five Indian bowlers, who already managed to pick up 200+ T20 wickets, are the right-arm spinners.

Indian players with most T20 wickets (Top 10)

Player Bowling style Wickets
Piyush Chawla Legbreak 257
Amit Mishra Legbreak 256
Ravichandran Ashwin Right-arm offbreak 244
Harbhajan Singh Right-arm offbreak 235
Yuzvendra Chahal Legbreak googly 205
Jasprit Bumrah Right-arm fast 202
R Vinay Kumar Right-arm medium 194
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Right-arm medium 185
Irfan Pathan Left-arm medium-fast 173
Jaydev Unadkat Left-arm medium 172


Here are some milestones which Jasprit Bumrah achieved as he completed his 100 IPL wickets:

  • Second Indian pacer to take 100 IPL wickets for a team.
  • Fifth Indian bowler to claim 100 IPL wickets for a team.
  • Fourth overall pacer to claim 100 IPL wickets for a team.
  • The eighth bowler to claim 100 IPL wickets for a team.
  • Seventh Indian pacer to take 100 IPL wickets.
  • 13th Indian bowler to pick up 100 IPL wickets.
  • 16th overall bowler to manage 100 IPL wickets.
  • Completing that feat in just 26 years and 327 days, he also became the third-youngest bowler to claim 100 IPL wickets. The top two bowlers in this list are Piyush Chawla (26 years and 117 days) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26 years and 133 days).