IPL 2020 MI vs DC: Rishabh Pant not playing, check out why

Delhi Capitals’ wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has been left out from the squad against Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League 2020 match on Sunday.
Notably, Pant picked up an injury during his last game against Rajasthan Royals and due that he is missing the game against the defending champions.

The 23-year-old was seen limping when he completed the catch to dismiss Varun Aaron off Kagiso Rabada’s bowling. Before that, he was seen struggling with reaching the wickets for the throws from the deep as well. But it started with a sprint towards mid-wicket to stop a quick single earlier in the innings.

However, Pant’s injury didn’t look serious at that time but Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer, after winning the toss against MI, confirmed that the youngster is injured and has been replaced by Ajinkya Rahane.

Interestingly, Delhi have had quite a few injury worries this season and started with Ishant Sharma having to miss the first few games due to back spasm. If Ishant missed the first few, Ravichandran Ashwin hurt his shoulder in the first game itself after starting off with wickets in his very first over.

While the shoulder injury did turn out to heal quickly, luck wasn’t on Amit Mishra’s side. Trying to pick a return catch off Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Nitish Rana’s bat, Mishra managed to injure a tendon in the ring finger of his bowling hand. In the end, he was ruled out of the tournament.

Talking about the match, DC won the toss and they opted to bat first at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

With 5 wins in six matches, Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi have just been unstoppable and are currently the strongest challengers to Mumbai Indians’ title defense.

On the other hand, Mumbai have also been terrific so far, having won four out of their six matches.

DC are currently leading the chart, while MI is just behind on the second spot.


Delhi Capitals Squad (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (c), Alex Carey (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians Squad (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah