IPL 2020 : Mayank Agarwal slams second fastest hundred by any Indian in IPL

RR vs KXIP Live : Mayank Agarwal has slammed second fastest hundred by any Indian in the Indian Premier League. Playing against Rajasthan Royals, Agarwal slammed brilliant record breaking 100 to take his team to a total of 223 runs. 

Mayank Agarwal flourished in the company of his Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) captain KL Rahul and went after the Rajasthan Royals (RR) bowlers from ball one. Mayank completed his maiden IPL hundred off 45 balls and his scintilating knock included as many as 9 fours and 7 sixes.
Mayank Agarwal’s hundred was also the second fastest by an Indian in IPL history. Only, Yusuf Pathan (in 37 balls vs Mumbai Indians in 2010) is ahead of Mayank Agarwal in the list.
Earlier, Mayank Agarwal missed on a hundred in his team’s opener against Delhi Capitals as he went down fighting and scored 89 to bring his team close to a win.

IPL 2020 : KL Rahul – Mayank Agarwal in 183 stand, sets 224 runs target for Rajasthan Royals

KL Rahul & Mayank Agarwal has shattered records after records in Sharjah against the Rajasthan Royals. Both the batsman showed brilliant stroke making skills to register 183 partnership for the opening wicket, highest ever for KingsXI Punjab in IPL history. Rahul, Agarwal was so severe on the Royals bowlers that 150 of the inning was reached only in the 14th over.

It took them just 8.4 overs to reach 100 as Agarwal hit two sixes off Shreyas Gopal to reach his fifty in just 26 balls. Mayank completed his 100 in just 45 balls. This was highest score ever for Mayank in IPL. His previous highest being 89 vs Delhi Capitals in the first game of IPL 2020. His run up to the century was laced with 9 boundaries and 7 sixes @ whooping strike rate of 212. 
At the other end, KL Rahul played second fiddle to Agarwal but still completed his half century in just 35 balls. 
Records broken by KL-Rahul-Mayank Agarwal

1. highest-ever opening stand for KXIP- bettering the 136-run partnership by Adam Gilchrist and Paul Valthaty in 2011

2. Most run in powerplay in IPL 2020 bettering MI’s 59/1

3. This is now the highest stand against Rajasthan Royals for any wicket in IPL. The previous highest was 163* runs between Sachin Tendulkar and Dwayne Smith for Mumbai Indians for opening wicket at Jaipur in 2012.

4.Fastest 100 in IPL by Indian
37 : Yusuf Pathan v MI, Mumbai, 2010
45 : Mayank Agarwal v RR, Sharjah, 2020*
46 : Murali Vijay v RR, Chennai, 2010


Earlier Rajasthan Royals captain Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bowl first.

IPL Orange Cap Standings : KL Rahul is now leading the ORANGE CUP Standings. 

IPL 2020 Orange Cap Leaderboard

 No. Player M Ins NO Runs HS Avg BF SR 100/50 4s/6s
1 KL Rahul 3 3 2 222 132* 189 138 160.14 1/1 23/9
2 Mayank Agarwal 3 3 1 221 106 73.66 130 170 1/1 21/11
3 Faf Du Plessis  3 3 1 173 72 86.5 64 149.13 0/2 11/7
4 Rohit Sharma 2 2 0 92 80 46 64 143.75 0/1 5/6
5 AB de Villers 2 2 0 79 51 39.5 48 164.58 0/1 8/3