IPL 2020: KXIP’s KL Rahul — The “Mr Consistent” of Indian Premier League

KL Rahul on Sunday once and for all rested the debate and took away the title of “Mr Consistent”. He became the first Indian to score 500+ runs in three consecutive IPL seasons. The versatile batsman has been in great form this season, and has single-handedly helped his team stay in the race for the play-offs.

In the previous match against Mumbai Indians, Rahul scored 77 off 51 balls to inspire KXIP’s 176 runs chasing cause. It was just one of his many fifties this season.

KXIP will be hoping their skipper to continue his great form when they take on the mighty Delhi Capitals in a make or break situation.

KL Rahul’s performance with KXIP

Ever since, Rahul joined Kings XI Punjab from Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2018, he has been a different player. He looks more mature, and plays shots more confidently. In his debut season with Punjab, he amassed a total of 659 runs with six 50s at a strike rate of 158.41. What was more surprising was in his debut match against Delhi Capitals, he records the fastest 50 of IPL in 16 balls.

The following year, he continued his individual performance scoring over 550 runs. This season, in nine matches he has already scored 525 runs and is key to KXIP’s batting order.

Together with Mayank Agarwal, he has formed a potent opening combination that has taken the attack to the opposition.

Fans will once again put all the hopes on him to beat DC and resurrect KXIP’s drowning season.

IPL 2020: Two other players who have scored over 500+ runs in consecutive seasons

Besides, Rahul, his teammate Chris Gayle and Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner have also achieved this feat.

Warner has scored 500-plus runs in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2019. He has missed 2018 owing to the ball-tampering ban. Gayle is the only other batsman to score 500 or more in three straight seasons – 2011, 2012 and 2013.