IPL 2020 KKR vs KXIP: Under-fire Dinesh Karthik slams 29-ball 58

Dinesh Karthi

Kolkata Knight Riders’ skipper Dinesh Karthik, who was criticized by many for not performing with the bat, finally found his form back as he smashed 58 off just 29 balls at a whopping strike rate of 200. His innings included 8 fours and 2 sixes.

Karthik came out to bat in a tough situation as KKR lost two early wickets and posted a score of 25 runs in the powerplay which turned to be their lowest in this season.

However, the 35-year-old who came out to bat at no.5, hit phenomenal half-century to propel his side to 164-6 in the allotted 20 overs.

Interestingly, DK completed his fifty in just 22 balls and it is the fifth-fastest half-century in IPL 2020 so far.

Fastest fifties in IPL 2020

POS Players Against BF Runs 6s 4s Venue Date
1 Nicholas Pooran (KXIP) SRH 17 77 7 5 Dubai International Cricket Stadium 8/10/2020
2 Sanju Samson (RR) CSK 19 74 9 1 Sharjah Cricket Stadium 22/9/2020
3 Kieron Pollard (MI) RCB 20 60 5 3 Dubai International Cricket Stadium 28/9/2020
4 Marcus Stoinis (DC) KXIP 20 53 3 7 Dubai International Cricket Stadium 20/9/2020
5 Dinesh Karthik (KKR) KXIP 22 58 2 8 Zayed Cricket Stadium 10/10/2020


Meanwhile, Karthik was supported by Shubman Gill from the other end, as the youngster also hit 57 off 47 balls to help KKR post a modest target.

Earlier in the day, Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and decided to bat first against Kings XI Punjab in the 24th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020.

Both the sides made one change apiece as KKR fielded Prasidh Krishna in place of Shivam Mavi while KXIP brought back Chris Jordan to replace Sheldon Cottrell.

Notably, Kolkata are entering the contest after beating Chennai Super Kings and they are fourth in the points table with six points from five games.

On the other hand, the season has been utterly disappointing for the KL Rahul led KXIP as they have suffered five losses in six games and are currently at the bottom of the points table.


Kolkata Knight Riders Squad (Playing XI): Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Kings XI Punjab Squad (Playing XI): KL Rahul (c), Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Simran Singh (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Jordan, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh