IPL 2020 : Has Rohit Sharma recovered ? Sunil Gavaskar calls for more transparency on Mumbai captain’s injury

Mystery surrounding Rohit Sharma’s injury has increased so much that former India captain and now a television commentator, Sunil Gavaskar has called out for more transparency on Mumbai Indian captain’s injury that has kept him out of all three India squads for the tour of Australia.

Gavaskar called for transparency as contrasting signals came in from BCCI and Mumbai Indians about Sharma’s injury.

The statement put out by the BCCI alongside the announcement of squads read – “The BCCI Medical Team will continue to monitor the progress of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma.”. Hence Rohit was not named in any of the squad.

Mumbai Indians gave complete different picture about Rohit Sharma

Following the announcement of the squads though, Mumbai Indians announced on their social media pages that Rohit Sharma was back training again. This led to Gavaskar calling in for more transparency on Rohit’s injury status.

IPL 2020 : What’s happening with Rohit Sharma’s injury ?

Rohit, the captain of Mumbai Indians in the ongoing Indian Premier League, has been missing in action for his franchise since the later stages of their Super Over loss to Kings XI Punjab on October 18.

On October 23, when Kieron Pollard acted as a stand-in captain for their next encounter, Mumbai put out a statement that said: “Rohit Sharma has suffered left leg hamstring strain during Mumbai Indians’ last outing. Rohit has made good progress over last four days, while the management is taking one day at a time monitoring the recovery process in consultancy with BCCI. Rohit has been advised rest for the match against CSK. Kieron Pollard will lead the team tonight.”

However Rohit went on to miss their next encounter against Rajasthan Royals on October 25, a day before the Indian selection committee picked the squads.

This was followed by Gavaskar calling for more clarity while speaking on Star Sports.

“I don’t know, I’m not on any of these public media but I was shown something about him practicing at the nets for Mumbai Indians. So I don’t know what kind of injury it is. Because if the injury was serious he wouldn’t even be padded up. So we’re talking about a tour that starts at the end of November for T20s and one-dayers but the Test matches start around 17th of December which is a month and a half away. And if he’s practicing in the nets for Mumbai Indians then honestly don’t know what kind of injury it is.

“And I think a little bit of transparency, a little bit of openness about what actually is the problem with him will help everybody. Because the Indian cricket fan deserves to know more than anything else. The franchises I understand, they don’t want to give their hand away because they’re trying to win the game, they don’t want to give the opposition any psychological advantage but we’re talking about an Indian team. Even Mayank Agarwal for example, Mayank Agarwal has not been playing… I think for the Indian cricket fan… they ought to know what is happening to two of their key players,” said Gavaskar.

The Indian team is set to travel to Australia from UAE after the conclusion of the IPL for which the support staff and other members of the contingent will undergo quarantine and regroup before the long tour.

Indian teams for India tour of Australia

Team India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Team India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

Team India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

Four additional bowlers – Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan – will travel with the Indian contingent.