IPL 2020 Finals: MI thrash DC to enter summit clash; All you need to know about IPL 13 Final

Mumbai Indians became the first team to book a berth in the IPL 2020 finals after thrashing Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in Qualifiers 1 on Thursday. The all-round power of MI rose to the fore at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium as they outclassed DC, storming into their second straight IPL finals.

MI will now have to wait for Sunday when Delhi will meet the winner of Friday’s eliminator to find out their opponents for the IPL 2020 finals.

IPL 2020 Finals: Mumbai Indians vs Winner of Qualifier 2 will contest the IPL 2020 finals on November 10 at 7:30 pm IST in Dubai.

In the meantime, here are 4 records you should know about ahead of IPL 13 finals that are in the offing.

IPL 2020 Finals: Mumbai Indians can script history by lifting IPL trophy for the 5th time

Mumbai Indians booked their sixth IPL finals berth after thrashing DC and will become the first team ever to lift the IPL trophy for a record fifth time. MI, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, are already the most successful franchise in the history of the tournament, having won 4 IPL titles.

Following closely is MS Dhoni’s CSK with 3 IPL title. Thus if Rohit Sharma and Mumbai Indians can do an encore of 2019, they will become the first team to achieve this feat and can be certain of it being untouched for sometime.

IPL 2020 Finals: MI will become the second team in history to successfully defend the IPL trophy

With a captain who now knows how to best marshal his resources in this tournament, Mumbai Indians were one of the favourites in IPL 2020 and so far they have not disappointed. Despite not being at his best this season, Rohit Sharma has led MI to four titles and his experience and skillset has once again bore results so far in the season as MI became the first team to book the IPL 2020 finals berth.

Only one team have successfully defended the IPL title, with Chennai achieving back-to-back triumphs in 2010 and 2011.

IPL 2020 Finals: Mumbai Indians have won alternate year- Can they break the jinx?

In the last seven IPL seasons, Mumbai have been champions four times. However, interestingly each time they have followed a title success with a relatively fallow year, finishing fourth, fifth and fifth again between their 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 success. If the pattern of triumphing in odd years and missing out in even years holds, it can spell otherwise for Mumbai Indians. Can they break the jinx and win it for a record 5th time?

IPL 2020 Finals: Mumbai Indians have won all titles under Rohit Sharma; Can he do an encore?

The Mumbai Indians, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, have won the IPL four times — 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. Rohit is the most successful captain in IPL’s history and has found things clicking every alternate year – 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. Going by the trend MI are not likely to win the trophy this year, but who is to say that the team cannot break that chain and make it two in two?