IPL 2020 bound Maxwell, Carey wins the last ODI for Australia, scheduled to reach UAE today

Australia's Glenn Maxwell hits the last ball of the innings for four runs during the ICC Cricket World Cup group stage match at The Oval, London. (Photo by Adam Davy/PA Images via Getty Images)

The Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) teams are eagerly waiting for their England and Australian cricketers to land in UAE. The bilateral series between the two is over and IPL bound stars are all set to board for UAE. The IPL cricketers starred for Australia on Wednesday late night as they handed first bilateral home series defeat since 2015 for England.

KingsXI Punjab Glen Maxwell and Delhi Capitals Alex Carey slam centuries

IPL teams should be pleased to see form of their cricketers.

Both KingsXI Punjab and Delhi Capitals will now have century makers in their squads. KXIP Maxwell and DC’s Carey scored brilliant centuries and registered 212 runs partnership that rescued the tourists from 73-5.

Chasing England’s 302/7, half of the Australian side was back in the pavilion with not even 75 on board. No one could have imagined Australian victory as that stage. But Maxwell – Carey did the unimaginable and registered gripping three-wicket win in the deciding third ODI at Emirates Old Trafford.

Mitchell Starc played his part as he smashed final-over boundaries as Australia inflict first home ODI series defeat on England since 2015.

The smashing form of Maxwell and Carey augurs well for their IPL 2020 teams.

Australia – three days after suffering a dramatic collapse to lose the second ODI by 24 runs – tumbled again as they chased 303 for victory, Chris Woakes and part-time spinner Joe Root sharing four wickets.

However, Maxwell (108 off 90) and Carey (106 off 114) profited from spurned England chances in a stand of 212 for the sixth wicket, before both batsmen fell towards the death, leaving Australia needing 10 from Adil Rashid’s final over.

Starc (11no off 3) smacked the first ball back over Rashid’s head for six and then swept the fourth away for four as Australia inflicted a first home ODI series defeat on their opponents since they triumphed 3-2 in 2015.

Maxwell had sealed an 84-ball second ODI hundred with a six off Tom Curran and although he was caught sweeping Adil Rashid in the 48th over with 18 runs needed, before Carey, whose maiden ODI hundred came from 106 balls, steered Jofra Archer to third man with 10 needed, Australia edged to victory.

Earlier aided by century from Sunrisers Hyderabad Jonny Bairstow (112 off 126), Sam Billings (57 off 58) and Woakes (53no off 39), England posted 302-7 despited being down two wickets without a run on board.

That total looked like being enough when Australia lost half their wickets inside 17 overs but Maxwell – dropped on 44 by Jos Buttler off Adil Rashid – and Carey – caught off a Archer no-ball on nine – completed a stunning turnaround, with one of Maxwell’s seven sixes flying all the way into The Point in a thrilling end to the men’s international summer.

IPL 2020 : When will England & Australian Cricketers reach UAE for IPL 2020

England and Australian cricketers are scheduled to fly to UAE on Thursday itself by the same flight. All IPL franchises with an exception of Mumbai Indians have booked a combined chartered flight that will bring cricketers participating in the just concluded series to UAE. Franchises are taking extreme precautions, caution and measures to transport players from one bio-secure bubble to another one in UAE.

After landing in UAE, players will be tested thrice before they are allowed to join their respective squads in Dubai and AbuDhabi. BCCI and IPL GC is yet to make it clear if the players will be given any exemptions from IPL 2020 Bio Security norms according to which players will have to quarantine themselves for minimum 6 days before they can join the respective squads.

Chennai Super Kings : Sam Curran, Josh Hazlewood, Shane Watson

Delhi Capitals : Alex Carrey, Stoinis

Kolkata Knight Riders : Pat Cummins, Green, Eoin Morgan, T. Banton

KingsXI Punjab : C.Jordan, Glenn Maxwell

Sunrisers Hyderabad : Bairstow, Mitchell Marsh, Stanlake, David Warner

Rajasthan Royals : Jofra Archer, Buttler, T.Curran, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, A.Tye

Royal Challengers Bengaluru : Moeen Ali, Aaron Finch, J.Philippe, Zampa

Mumbai Indians : Coulter -Nile, Chriss Lynn (Already in UAE)

According to IPL Moneyball, (https://moneyball.insidesport.co/ipl-index.php), after India Australian cricketers are due to earn the most from IPL 2020. 17 Australian cricketers will be taking home 86.7Cr this edition. 11 top class cricketers from England will be earning 43.8 Cr overall from the 13th edition of IPL.