IPL 2020: BCCI confirms 4-team Women’s T20 Challenge in Jaipur

Women’s T20 Challenge,IPL 2020,BCCI,WT20 Challenge,Indian Premier League

The speculation is over. The Women’s T20 Challenge will be back in Jaipur. The Board of Control for Cricket in India has confirmed the third season of the tournament, to be played during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 to promote women’s participation in the sport in India.

As part of its ongoing commitment to grow the women’s game, BCCI has announced the 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge. The tournament which started in 2018 and was a huge success had  further garnered all the right eyeballs in the year to follow.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Tom Curran says he won’t reveal all his tricks

The 2019 games, comprising three teams were played at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur during the IPL Playoff and Finals week. The tournament, played with great intensity,  saw the winner of 2019 WT20 Challenge being decided over the last ball of the match. The matches were broadcast LIVE on the Star Sports network and Hotstar.

The 2020 edition aims to be no different and this will see a fourth team joining the action, BCCI has confirmed in a Press release.

The WT20 Challenge this year will feature some of the world’s best women cricketers and will have 7 matches played during the IPL Playoff week at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

“Like the previous editions, this year’s Women’s T20 Challenge too promises to be an exciting prospect,” BCCI Honorary Secretary Jay Shah stated in the release.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Rajasthan Royals to host two matches at Guwahati