International Women’s Day 2021: Ten inspirational sportswomen and their achievements for India

International Women’s Day 2021: Today marks one of the most significant days in the world. Every year on March 8 we celebrate…

International Women’s Day 2021: Ten inspirational sportswomen and their achievements for India

International Women’s Day 2021: Today marks one of the most significant days in the world. Every year on March 8 we celebrate International Women’s Day. The day is all about raising awareness about gender equality, helping women with their rights and embracing the power of feminine energy. The day is celebrated by organizing events across India. Several sportspersons who excelled for India are felicitated for their contribution. As we celebrate International Women’s Day 2021, take a look at five inspirational sportspersons who defied all odds on their way to glory:

Mithali Raj

India women’s national team cricket captain, Mithali Raj is a living example of how to achieve success through sheer determination and persevarance. She made her debut for India at the age of 17 and hasn’t looked back since. Mithali, 38, holds numerous records in international cricket including leading run-scorer and only player to smash seven consecutive fifties. She made her way to top-flight cricket after impressive performances for Railways.

Also Read: International Women’s Day 2021: Five Indian cricketers who continue to inspire the next generation


Arjuna Award- 2003

Padma Shri- 2015

Youth Sports Icon of Excellence award- 2017

Vogue sportsperson of the Year- 2017

Mary Kom

Mary Kom is an Indian boxer who has on World Amateur Boxing Championship 6 times. She is the only female boxer to win a medal in each of the first seven World Championship. Mary Kom is the only boxer to win eight World Championship medals, including bronze at the 2012 London Olympics and Goldin Asian Games and 2018 Commonwealth Games. Despite belonging from a small village in Manipur, she went to become an inspiration for millions of Indians.


Padma Vibhushan- 2010

Padma Bhushan- 2013

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award- 2009

Padma Shri- 2006

Arjuna Award- 2003

Saina Nehwal

Pro Badminton player Saina Nehwal has won 24 international titles for India, including three golds in Commonwealth Games and a bronze in 2012 London Olympics. She is the former World No.1 and the only female player from India to attain World No.1 ranking. She has represented India 3 times in Olympics, winning bronze in her second appearance. Nehwal, 30, also has at least one medal in every BWF major individual event—BWF World Championships.

Also Read: International Women’s Day 2021: Cricket Australia takes an inspirational step to reduce gender gap in cricket; Check out


Most promising player of the year- 2008

Arjuna Award- 2009

Padma Shri- 2010

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna- 2009 and 2010

Padma Bhushan -2016

PV Sindhu

Another star Badminton player PV Sindhu has won multiple tournaments including the Olympics and BWF circuit, including gold at World Championships 2019. She is the first Indian to become Badminton World Champion and the first Indian woman to earn on Olympic silver medal. She started playing badminton at the age of eight.

Also Read: ICC Women’s Cricket: ICC announces more teams & matches for World Cup, Champions Trophy


Padma Bhushan- 2020

Padma Shri- 2015

Rajiv Gandhu Khel Ratna Award- 2016

Arjuna Award- 2013

Sania Mirza

Sania Mirza is a former India No.1 tennis player. She won India many accolades in the Tennis’ top-flight events like Grand Slams and Olympics. In her singles career, she defeated top players like World No. 1 Martina Hingis, Victoria Azarenka and Dinara Safina. Mirza, 34, has won the Australian Open, Wimbledon and US Open in Grand Slam doubles.

Deepika Kumari

Former World No.1 who competes in archery. She won a gold medal in the 2010 Commonwealth Games in the women’s individual recurve event. She also won a gold medal in the same competition in the women’s team recurve event. She took part in the 2012 London Olympics and competed in Women’s individual and women’s team events. Deepika, 26, was born to an auto-rickshaw driver in Ranchi.


Arjuna Award- 2012

FICCI Sportsperson of the Year Award- 2014

Padma Shri- 2016

Young Achievers Award (Vogue)- 2017

Dipa Karmakar

Dipa Karmakar is the firsy Indian female gymnast to win a medal in Commonwealth Games. She won bronze in 2018. She has also represented India in the 2016 Rio Olympics, becoming the first Indian female gymnast ever to compete in the Olympics.


Arjuna Award- 2015

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award- 2016

Padma Shri- 2017

Tania Sachdev

Tania Sachdev is an Indian chess player who holds the FIDE titles of International Master and Woman Grandmaster.

Dutee Chand

Dutee Chand is the first India to win gold in a 100-metre race in a global competition. Chand, 25, is the only third Indian woman to women in the Women’s 100 metres race at the Summer Olympics Games. Chand clinched a silver in women’s 100m at Jakarta Asian Games.

Phogat sisters

Geeta and Babita are Indian female wrestler. The duo have won gold medal in Commonwealth Games. While Geeta is the first Indian freestyle female wrestler to win a gold medal, Babita has also won silver and bronze medals in Commonwealth Games. There is a movie named Dangal based on the lives of Phogat sisters.

For more sports news and updates, follow us at

Share This: