India vs Australia 3rd Test : Joe Burns dropped, Warner & Pucovski included in Australia squad for Sydney Test

India vs Australia 3rd Test : Ahead of the third Test against India, Australia have dropped out-of-form opener Joe Burns and included David Warner and Will Pucovski in Australia’s updated squad for the Sydney Test which is set to commence from January 7.

Burns has been omitted after his flop show in Boxing Day Test which Australia lost by 8 wickets. Overall, he registered scores of 8, 51no, 0 and 4 in the opening two Vodafone Tests. Meanwhile, Warner is set to return to the top of the order after having recovered from the groin injury he incurred during the ODI series against India.

Also, Pucovski had been in line to make his Test debut in the first match of the series in Adelaide before the ninth concussion of his young career ruled him out of the opening two games. But his return here raises the prospect of him finally debuting at the SCG next week.

Also Read: Team India schedule in 2021: 6 Big challenges Virat Kohli’s team India will face in Year 2021

Should both Warner and Pucovski play, it remains to be seen if the stop-gap opener Matthew Wade, who struck a gritty forty in the second Test, will be pushed down the order at the expense of Travis Head, who has come under harsh criticism for his shot selection thus far this series.

Meanwhile, fast bowler Sean Abbott will also re-join the Test squad after recovering from a calf strain.

The four-match series are currently levelled at 1-1. Australia had won the opening day-night Test in Australia by eight wickets, before losing the following Boxing Day Test in Melbourne by the same margin.

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner