India vs Australia 3rd ODI: Can Virat Kohli’s Team India save themselves from consecutive ODI series whitewash?

India vs Australia 3rd ODI: Can Virat Kohli’s Team India save themselves from consecutive ODI series whitewash? Virat Kohli’s Team India will aim to avoid consecutive series whitewash when they take on Australia in the third and final ODI of the series in Canberra on Wednesday.

The Men in Blue have already lost the three-match ODI series against Australia with the hosts taking an unassailable 2-0 lead and now they are in danger of suffering the consecutive ODI series whitewash as India were clean swept in New Zealand in the three-match ODI series in February 2020.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli vs Rohit Sharma Captaincy Debate : Is it time to make Rohit as India’s ODI and T20 Captain ?

Moreover, following the humiliation in ODI series, Kohli’s men were whitewashed 0-2 in the Test series against the Black Caps. Hence, Team India would go into the final ODI against Australia to prevent an unprecedented eighth successive defeat and a third consecutive series whitewash, which will put Kohli’s captaincy in jeopardy.

Notably, India lost their seventh successive match across formats – only for the second time in their cricketing history. The last time the Indian team went through a similar lean patch was 18 years ago under the captaincy of Saurav Ganguly.

India vs Australia 3rd ODI: Apart from avoiding the humiliating ODI series whitewash, India can earn points in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League

The ongoing series between India and Australia is a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League and defeats in the opening two ODIs means India is yet to open their account. Whereas, Australia have so far played five matches in the Super League, registering four wins and one defeat.

With 40 points under their belt, Australia top the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League standings followed by England, who have 30 points from six games.

ALSO READ: Ind vs Aus 3rd ODI : Natarajan or Shardul likely to replace Saini as India to play for pride

The International Cricket Council (ICC) launched the Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League in July this year, with an aim to bring context to ODI cricket. The Super League will determine qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with the top seven teams automatically booking their spot at the event in India.

However, it will not be an easy task for the Indian team to overpower Australia, who are high on confidence after securing two comprehensive wins over the visitors. In both ODIs, Australia racked up a total of more than 350 runs with Indian bowlers struggling to thwart their opposition’s batsmen.

Jasprit Bumrah, who holds the second spot in the ICC ODI Bowling Rankings, also failed to hinder Australia’s batting line-up in both ODIs. Whereas, Australia batsmen are showing no signs of trouble hitting the ball all around the park, and bowlers are also delivering good performances to ensure big wins for the team. The Aaron Finch-led team registered a 66-run win in the first ODI and a 51-run win in the second.

ALSO READ: India vs Australia: IPL 2020 Flops for Australia are becoming winners, IPL trumps for India are turning big flops

Steve Smith smashed a century in both matches, playing a knock of 105 and 104 in the first and second ODI respectively. However, the only advantage that India is going to enjoy going into the third ODI is that Australia will be without their in-form opener David Warner and Pat Cummins as the duo is set to miss the remaining white-ball matches. Warner had suffered a groin injury during the second ODI.

While D’Arcy Short has replaced Warner, no direct replacement has been made for Cummins at this stage. “Pat and Davie are critical to our plans for the Test Series. Davie will work through his injury rehab and in Pat’s case it is important all of our players are managed well to keep them mentally and physically fit throughout what is a challenging summer,” Australia’s Head Coach Justin Langer had said.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson.

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch (Captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.