India tour of England: BCCI doing a ‘re-think on break from bio-bubble’ for Virat Kohli and company before the England test series

India Tour of England: BCCI confirms ‘player test positive in England’, asks other team members to reassemble in Durham before end of the day today
India Tour of England: BCCI confirms ‘player test positive in England’, asks other team members to reassemble in Durham before end of the day today

India tour of England – Break for Team India? In what comes as bad news for Virat Kohli & Co, their vacation in England starting from tomorrow could be cancelled as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is currently evaluating the situation of surging cases of COVID-19 in England. Team India is currently touring England for the ICC WTC Final and five-match Test series, which is set to end on September 14. BCCI Treasurer Arun Dhumal told InsideSport that the board is currently monitoring the situation and a call will be taken depending on the situation.

ALSO READ: ICC T20 World Cup: ICC’s 28th June deadline on head, BCCI still struggling to resolve tax-exemption requisite

Virat Kohli & Co were supposed to take a break after the WTC Final with their families and exit the bio-bubble. But due to unlocking & sudden surge in cases – the plans could change and their stay in bio-bubble could be longer than expected.

ALSO READ: NZ win WTC Final: Virat Kohli says, ‘We were put under pressure throughout the game’

“We are monitoring the situation and if the condition worsens, we will take a call accordingly, We haven’t taken a final call on it yet.” Arun Dhumal, BCCI’s treasurer told on Wednesday.

India tour of England: Since IPL 2020, Virat Kohli & Co has moved from one bio-bubble to another. After IPL 2021 was suspended, Team India players got 15 days off before entering another bio-bubble for the England Tour. But after the ICC WTC Final against New Zealand, they were supposed to get a break for few days before entering another bubble for the five-match Test series against England.

With the UK government easing up lockdown restrictions, Virat Kohli & Co with their families were supposed to take a vacation. However, the UK is currently witnessing a surge. Over the last two weeks, UK has seen a sharp rise in the number of cases from 5,000 average in a week to nearly 10,000. It has also put the Euro 2020 semifinals and Final at the Wembley Stadium at jeopardy. However, the UEFA said it will go ahead with the venue as planned if there is no drastic change in the situation.

India tour of England: However, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and the full squad may not be so lucky. The dominant variant in the UK is the Delta variant that first emerged in India. BCCI had to negotiate for special permission for soft quarantine for the Indian cricketers and their families.

ALSO READ: New Zealand Wins WTC Final: Williamson, Taylor star as New Zealand thrash Virat Kohli’s India by 8 wickets to win World Test Championship

But with the worsening COVID-19 conditions in the UK and five-match Test series at stake, BCCI could change its plans and force the players to stay in another bubble or move to some other country in Europe.

India Tour of England: a The team will have a 42-day break before the 1st Test against England from August 4. After two weeks of vacation in the UK, Team India will play intra-squad matches to prepare for the Test series against England.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021 Phase 2: CPL sorted, BCCI now in talks to sort 4 other roadblocks for IPL 2021 in UAE

India Tour of England Schedule

1st Test: England vs India: August 4-8 at Nottingham

2nd Test: England vs India: August 12-16 at Lord’s, London

3rd Test: England vs India: August 25-29 at Leeds

4th Test: England vs India: September 2-6 at London (Oval)

5th Test: England vs India: September 10-14 at Manchester

India Tour of England – Indian Squad

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper)