India tour of Australia: Virat Kohli’s Team India will wear this ‘retro themed jersey’ in Australia series

Image credit: Outlook

India tour of Australia: Indian cricket team are reportedly set to don a new jersey when they lock horns against Australia in the upcoming ODI and the T20I series. Virat Kohli & Co. are touring Australia for three ODIs, three T20Is, and four Tests.

ALSO READ: India tour of Australia: BCCI creates special PPE kits and Masks for Virat Kohli’s Team India as they leave for Australia

India’s tour of Australia will start with the three-match ODI series. The first two ODIs on November 27 and 29 will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground, while the third ODI and first T20I will take place at the Manuka Oval. Thereafter, the teams return to Sydney for the remaining two T20Is.

Team India to wear new ‘retro-themed’ jersey:

Team India will be seen in a new attire when they take the field against Australia in the limited-overs series. According to a report in Outlook, the new jersey is retro-themed and has been inspired by the Seventies. The new kit will have a Navy Blue shade, a shift from the conventional sky blue colour that the team has been wearing in recent years.

ALSO READ: India Tour of Australia: Ishant Sharma likely to join India team for Test series after Nov 18

The Navy Blue shirts will also sport the name of the BCCI’s new kit sponsors – MPL Sports. Last month, the BCCI had signed a three-year deal with MPL Sports. MPL has replaced Nike as Team India’s new kit sponsors.

Australia unveils unique jersey for T20 series against India:

Australia’s men’s team will wear an Indigenous shirt for the first time in the T20 series against India early next month. The Australian men’s cricket team will follow the lead of the national women’s side and wear an Indigenous shirt for their upcoming Dettol T20 series against India.

Cricket Australia has unveiled the jersey, a collaboration between manufacturer ASICS and two Indigenous women, Aunty Fiona Clarke and Courtney Hagen, who have been integral to the sport’s recent efforts to better recognise and encourage the involvement of Indigenous Australians in cricket.

Australia’s women’s side first wore an Indigenous shirt of their own in a match against England earlier this year and have been proactive in addressing issues of race in their sport.

India tour of Australia: Test series schedule

After the completion of the limited-overs series, the focus will shift onto the four-match Test series, which will commence from December 17 with the day-night Test in Adelaide. It will be the first-day night Test match between the two nations.

The second is the Boxing Day Test which will be at the Melbourne Cricket Ground from December 26 to 30. The third Test will be at the Sydney Cricket Ground from January 7 to 11 and the final Test at the Gabba from January 15 to 19.

Updated India Squad for Australia Tour

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper).

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.