India Tour of Australia : Rohit Sharma included in the Indian Test team, Virat Kohli to return after 1st Test

India Tour of Australia : As expected and reported by InsideSport, Rohit Sharma has been included in the Indian team for the tour of Australia. Rohit will be resting for ODI’S and T20 series but will play the 4 match Test series against Australia.

“The BCCI Medical Team has been monitoring Rohit Sharma’s fitness and has briefed All-India Senior Selection Committee on the same. In consultation with Mr Sharma, it has been decided to rest him for the ODIs and T20Is in Australia to regain full fitness and he has been included in India’s Test squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy”

India tour of Australia : Virat Kohli to miss 3 Tests, Rohit Sharma may end up leading India in Australia 

Meanwhile in another major development, BCCI has announced that Virat Kohli will only 1st Test match against Australia. Post that he will return back to India to attend to his wife as they are expecting their first child at that point of time.

“Mr Virat Kohli– At the selection committee meeting held on October 26th, 2020, Mr Virat Kohli had informed the BCCI about his plans to return to India after the first Test in Adelaide. The BCCI has granted paternity leave to the Indian captain. He will return after the first Test against Australia in Adelaide”

Though BCCI has named Ajinkya Rahane as Vice-Captain of the Indian team but in all likelihood Rohit Sharma may end up leading India in the series in the absence of Virat Kohli.

India tour of Australia : Wriddhiman Saha stays doubtful for the tour

BCCI has admitted that Wriddhiman Saha is also doubtful for the tour of Australia.

“Mr Wriddhiman Saha- The senior Indian wicket-keeper sustained injuries to both his hamstrings during his side’s IPL game on 3rd November. A call on his availability will be taken later

On Ishant Sharma, BCCI declared that he is currently rehabilitating in National Cricket Academy and call on his availability will be taken at a later stage.

“Mr Ishant Sharma- The senior Indian fast bowler has been undergoing his rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. Once he fully recovers and gains sufficient match fitness, he will be added to India’s Test squad”

Team India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

Other important changes announces by the BCCI –

Mr Sanju Samson– The Selection Committee has added Sanju Samson as an additional wicket-keeper to India’s ODI squad.

Mr Varun Chakravarthy– The spinner has been ruled out of the T20I series owing to a shoulder injury. The selectors have named T Natarajan as a replacement.

Mr Kamlesh Nagarkoti– The young fast bowler will not be able to travel to Australia as he is still working with the medical team on his bowling workload management.

The revised squads for the tour of Australia are as follows –

Team India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

Team India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper).