India tour of Australia: Andrew Tye replaces Kane Richardson in Australia’s ODI, T20I squads

India tour of Australia: Pace bowler Kane Richardson has withdrawn from Australia’s limited-overs series against India to spend time with his newborn son and been replaced by Andrew Tye, Cricket Australia said on Wednesday.

ALSO READ: India tour of Australia: Complete schedule, full squads, match timings in IST; All you need to know

The 33-year-old Tye has played 7 ODIs and T20 internationals and was a backup paceman on Australia’s recent tour to Britain, which finished with an ODI series win over World Cup winner England.

“It was a difficult decision for Kane to make but one which has the complete support of the selectors and the entire playing squad,” national selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

“Kane wanted to remain in Adelaide with Nyki and their newborn son. We will always support our players and their families; even more so given the challenging environment we are in.”

Inda tour of Australia: Limited-overs series schedule

The 3 ODIs will be played on November 27, 29 and December 2, followed by the T20Is on December 4, 6 and 8.

Inda tour of Australia: Fresh coronavirus outbreak in South Australia

Meanwhile, the tour by India has been complicated in recent days with a fresh coronavirus outbreak in South Australia, which is to host the first test from Dec. 17.

ALSO READ: India tour of Australia: Cricket Australia airlifts Australian team members including captain Tim Paine into Sydney

The limited-overs series, involving three one-day and three Twenty20 matches in Sydney and Canberra, will precede the four tests.

Cricket Australia added that because of the outbreak, D’Arcy Short and Josh Philippe will train with the Australian limited-overs squad in Sydney from next week before they join their Big Bash sides.

ALSO READ: India tour of Australia : Despite Cricket Australia’s assurance, Adelaide test stays doubtful , MCG on standby

Australia ODI & T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey , Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Andrew Tye, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa