India at Tokyo Olympics: Full list of qualified Indian athletes, fixtures, schedule, timing in IST and live coverage

India at Tokyo Olympics:  Nearly 100 Indian athletes across 13 sporting events have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics slated to kick off from July 23. India has seen a rise in each of its past three editions and the trend is likely to continue in Japan too. While Shooting and Archery federations have announced the squad for the respective sports, some are yet to release the final list of athletes. The latest Indian athlete to confirm a Tokyo Olympic quota is weightlifter Mirabai Chanu.

India at Tokyo Olympics – Full list of qualified athletes




Tarundeep Rai

Men’s Recurve

Atanu Das

Men’s Recurve

Pravin Jadhav

Men’s Recurve

Deepika Kumari

Women’s Recurve




KT Irfan

Men’s 20km race walk

Sandeep Kumar

Men’s 20km race walk

Avinash Sable

Men’s 3000m steeplechase

Murali Sreeshankar

Men’s long jump

Neeraj Chopra

Javelin Throw

Shivpal Singh

Javelin Throw

Kamalpreet Kaur

Women’s discus throw

Bhawna Jat

Women’s 20km race walk

Priyanka Goswami

Women’s 20km race walk

4×400 mixed relay




Vikas Krishnan

Men’s 69kg

Lovlina Borgohain

Women’s 69kg

Ashish Kumar

Men’s 75kg

Pooja Rani

Women’s 75kg

Satish Kumar

Men’s 91kg

Mary Kom

Women’s 51kg

Amit Panghal

Men’s 52kg

Manish Kaushik

Men’s 53kg

Simranjit Kaur

Women’s 60kg




Anjum Moudgil

10m Women’s Air Rifle

Apurvi Chandela

10m Women’s Air Rifle

Divyansh Singh Panwar

10m Men’s Air Rifle

Deepak Kumar

10m Men’s Air Rifle

Tejaswini Sawant

50m Women’s Rifle 3 Position

Sanjeev Rajput

50m Men’s Rifle 3 Position

Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar

50m Men’s Rifle 3 Position

Manu Bhaker

10m Women’s Air Pistol

Yashaswini Singh Deswal

10m Women’s Air Pistol

Saurabh Chaudhary

10m Men’s Air Pistol

Abhishek Verma

10m Men’s Air Pistol

Rahi Sarnobat

25m Women’s Pistol

Chinki Yadav

25m Women’s Pistol (replaced by Elavenil Valarivan)

Angad Veer Singh Bajwa

Men’s Skeet

Mairaj Ahmad Khan

Men’s Skeet

Table Tennis


Sharath Kamal

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran

Sutirtha Mukherjee

Manika Batra




Seema Bisla

Women’s Freestyle, 50kg

Vinesh Phogat

Women’s Freestyle, 53kg

Anshu Malik

Women’s Freestyle, 57kg

Sonam Malik

Women’s Freestyle, 62kg

Ravi Kumar Dahiya

Men’s Freestyle 57kg

Bajrang Punia

Men’s Freestyle 65kg

Deepak Punia

Men’s Freestyle 86kg

Sumit Malik

Men’s Freestyle 125kg




Nethra Kumanan

Laser Radial

Vishnu Saravanan

Laser Standard

KC Ganapathy and Varun Thakkar



Arjun Jat and Arvind Singh — men’s lightweight double sculls event


Men’s National Team

Women’s National Team


Pranati Nayak


Bhavani Devi


Fouaad Mirza


Mirabai Chanu

India at Tokyo Olympics – How has India performed in past Olympic editions?

India first medal came at the 1900 Paris Olympics when Norman Pritchard won a silver medal in Men’s 200 metres. From Independent India, the Indian hockey team bagged the first medal at the 1948 London Games. The first individual medal from independent India was won by Khashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav at the 1952 Helsinki Games in wrestling.

India has won a total of 28 medals at the Summer Games, with hockey being the most successful sport.

Sport Gold Silver Bronze Total
Field hockey 8 1 2 11
Shooting 1 2 1 4
Athletics 0 2 0 2
Wrestling 0 1 4 5
Badminton 0 1 1 2
Boxing 0 0 2 2
Tennis 0 0 1 1
Weightlifting 0 0 1 1
Total 9 7 12 28


India at Tokyo Olympics: Which edition has been the best for India?

It was the 2012 London Games when India actually made its presence felt. For the first time in India’s history at Olympics, the country bagged six medals in a single edition.

2012 London Vijay Kumar Silver Shooting Men’s 25 Rapid Fire Pistol
2012 London Sushil Kumar Silver Wrestling Men’s freestyle 66kg
2012 London Saina Nehwal Bronze Badminton Women’s singles
2012 London Mary Kom Bronze Boxing Women’s flyweight
2012 London Gagan Narang Bronze Shooting Men’s 10m Air Rifle
2012 London Yogeshwar Dutt Bronze Wrestling Men’s freestyle 60kg


India at Tokyo Olympics: Performance at Last Olympic Games

India won just two medals at the Rio Olympics in 2016 but was certainly a Games of first. It was the first time India won a silver medal in Badminton, courtesy of PV Sindhu. Sakshi Malik also became the first Indian woman wrestler to win a medal.

2016 Rio de Janeiro

PV Sindhu



Women’s singles

2016 Rio de Janeiro

Sakshi Malik



Women’s freestyle 58kg


India at Tokyo Olympics: Key athletes to watch out for –

Wrestling: Bajrang Punia (65 kg), Ravi Dahiya (57 kg) and Vinesh Phogat (53 kg)

Badminton: PV Sindhu (women’s single), Satwik Rankireddy – Chirag Shetty (men’s doubles)

Table Tennis: Manika Batra, G Sathiyan and Sharath Kamal

Shooting: Anjum Moudgil, Divyansh Singh Parmar, Elavenil Valarevin, Manu Bhaker

Athletics: Neeraj Chopra, Murali Sreeshankar

Weightlifting: Mirabai Chanu

Boxing: Vikash Krishnan, Amit Panghal and Mary Kom

India at Tokyo Olympics: When and where to watch Tokyo 2020?

The live streaming for Tokyo Olympics will be broadcast on Sony Sports. The event will begin at 9 a.m. Japan time (5:30 a.m. IST)