Ind vs Eng T20 series: IPL 2020 performers rewarded, Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Tewatia named in Indian team

India T20 Squad for Eng Series

Ind vs Eng T20 series – Tewatia, Chakravarthy, Suryakumar Yadav gets maiden call-up: England and India will take on each other in 5 T20I matches on conclusion of the 4-match Test series. Wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Rahul Tewatia were on Saturday named in India’s 19-man squad for the five-match T20 series against England.

IPL 2020’s top performers rewarded: Yadav finally breaks into the team after consistent performances for Mumbai in domestic cricket as well as Mumbai Indians in the IPL.

Also Read: India’s Playing XI for 3rd Test: Bumrah all set to come back, India may shun 3 spinner theory in Pink Ball test?

Kishan, who also plays Mumbai Indians, has been been in red hot form in white-ball cricket and has been rewarded and will be second stumper in the side along with Risabh Pant.

Haryana’s Tewatia too made the cut after a memorable IPL. The selection of 27-year-old Tewatia is another case of a player transcending limitations in other formats and finding a path to the national team via the IPL.

Also Read: Ishant Sharma 100th Test: Sandhu & Ghavri reveals, ‘what makes Ishant Sharma so special’

Injured Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, and Mayank Agarwal are among the names who miss out from the squad that traveled to Australia for the T20s late last year. Jasprit Bumrah has been rested.

The T20 series will be played in Ahmedabad from March 12.

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur.