Ind vs Eng 3rs Test: 7 cool features in Motera Stadium you should know about ahead of pink ball Test

Ind vs Eng 3rd Test – Motera Stadium: Motera, the world’s largest cricket stadium, is all set to host the day-night SG ball test between India and England from February 24 to 28. The venue boasts a capacity of 1,10,000, but will only allow 50 per cent capacity due to COVID-19 protocols.

Motera is based in Gujarat’s Ahmedabad city and hosted the ‘Namaste Trump’ event last year. The stadium will be inaugurated by President Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday. “The stadium will be inaugurated on Wednesday by President Ram Nath Kovind in the special presence of Union Minister Amit Shah. There will be a festive atmosphere in the entire country including Gujarat,” said PIB release.

Also Read: Ind vs Eng 3rd Test: Gautam Gambhir wants three pacers in playing 11 for Pink-ball Test; check details inside

But what features does Motera stadium house?


1) The Sardar Patel Motera Stadium is spread across 63 acres. It has dethroned Australia’s Melbourne Cricket Ground, which has a capacity of 100,000.


1) It has two practise grounds with nine pitches and another 11 pitches — each diverse in nature.

Also Read: Ind vs Eng 3rd Test Preview: Eyes on Ashwin and Axar Patel at Motera’s Day/Night Test, England seek answer to “pink-ball turner”

2) Each dressing room is interconnected to two gym areas and has a spacious warm-up area. Also, there is individual space for trainers, physios and coaches.


1) The absence of floodlight towers and pillars will give players an unobstructed view of on-field action.

2) During rainy days, the play can resume in 30 minutes, courtesy of its unique drainage system.

Also Read: India’s playing XI for 3rd Test: 1 place 4 contenders – Siraj, Pandya, Kuldeep & Sundar ?

3) The 55-room clubhouse has a 3D-mini theatre, gymnasium, an Olympic size swimming pool, squash court and steam and sauna area.


1) With a capacity of over 100,000, more spectators can be seated in Motera, than in MA Chidambaram (Chennai), Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai) and M Chinnasqamy (Bangalore).