ICC WTC Final: Unlucky Axar Patel to miss out on WTC Final, Ravindra Jadeja is team’s choice in Indian Playing XI

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: Despite a record-breaking Test debut series against England at home, Axar Patel is all set…

ICC WTC Final - India playing XI: Axar Patel to sit out as Virat Kohli to pick Ravindra Jadeja to partner Ravichandran Ashwin vs New Zealand

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: Despite a record-breaking Test debut series against England at home, Axar Patel is all set to be benched from the Indian Playing XI for ICC World Test Championship Final. Instead of Axar, Ravindra Jadeja will be Captain Virat Kohli & Ravi Shastri preferred choice for the final against New Zealand. In all probability, India is set to stick to their two-spinner formula with Ravichandran Ashwin & Jadeja getting nod ahead of Axar.

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: After bagging 27 wickets on debut Test series, one would expect to be picked in playing XI in the next series, but not for Virat Kohli’s India. India has an abundance of quality spinners and with Jadeja recovered from injury, he will return to the playing XI to partner Ashwin. That means, Axar Patel, thought as a like-to-like replacement for Jadeja, will have to sit out in the all-important ICC WTC Final. Ashwin will be an automatic choice not only for his bowling but also batting.

Also Read: India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: It’s almost final, India to play 3 pacers & 2 spinners against New Zealand

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: No place for Axar Patel in India vs New Zealand finals?

Coming in as a replacement for Jadeja, Axar Patel was expected to play second fiddle to Ashwin during the England Test series. But the spinner surprised all by bagging 27 wickets in three matches including four 5-wicket hauls in six innings, a record in Test cricket for a debutant.

England batsmen was completely trapped in his spin-web.

However, with Jadeja back from injury, Axar Patel will have to wait for his chance as the former has better batting abilities and has a proven track record in England.

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: Why Ravindra Jadeja preferred ahead of Axar Patel?

In India’s last tour of England in 2018, Jadeja played just one match but played a crucial knock of unbeaten 86 while bagging seven wickets. Overall, in all formats combined, Jadeja has bagged 49 wickets in England, a better record than even Ashwin. On the other hand, Axar Patel is yet to play a Test in England.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final Weather Forecast: Bad news for fans, rain likely to play spoilsport during IND vs NZ WTC final

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: Why Ravindra Jadeja preferred ahead of Axar Patel?

– Ashwin an automatic choice to counter New Zealand’s left-handers.
– Ashwin and Jadeja are better batsmen than Axar.
– Jadeja an all-rounder in true sense due to his excellent fielding skills.
– On pitches that don’t offer much turn, Jadeja is a proven bowler with 109 wickets across all formats in 85 matches in England, Australia and New Zealand. Axar is yet to play in England.
– In the intra-squad practice match, Jadeja shined with a half-century.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final: Battle between India’s batting vs New Zealand’s bowling set for June 18 in Ageas Bowl

India Playing XI – ICC WTC Final: Overcast conditions unlikely to influence team selection

While many believe that India will field four pacers and only a spinner with off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin getting the nod in Southampton, Virat Kohli is unlikely to come out of their comfort zone. Two spinners and three pacers will likely be in India’s bowling combination despite the weather forecast predicting rain during the ICC WTC Final (June 18-23).

Also Read in Hindi: ICC WTC Final: विश्व टेस्ट चैंपियनशिप के फाइनल से पहले भारत के लिए खतरे की घंटी, इन बड़े कारणों से बढ़ी टीम इंडिया की परेशानी

ICC WTC Final – India’s likely Playing XI: Openers: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill; No 3: Cheteshwar Pujara, No 4: Virat Kohli, No 5: Ajinkya Rahane, No 6: Rishabh Pant, No 7: Ravindra Jadeja, No 8: Ravichandran Ashwin, No 9: Mohammed Shami, No 10: Jasprit Bumrah, No 11: Ishant Sharma.

Share This: