ICC World Cup- West Indies vs Australia: head to head matches

ICC WORLD CUP 2019,ICC Cricket WORLD CUP 2019,ICC WORLD CUP 2019 Live,West Indies vs Australia Live,WI VS AUS Live

West Indies have faced Australia 9 times before in the matches played between them across the 11 editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup so far. In which, the West Indies have won 5 games and went down in 4 games, WI have a winning percentage of 56% against Australia.

In this edition of ICC World Cup,  in match 4th (01 June 2019) Australia defeated New-comers Afghanistan by 7 wickets While West Indies also open their ICC World Cup 2019 campaign on a positive note as they won against Pakistan by 7 wickets.

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2019 LIVE: When and Where to Watch live streaming and Full Schedule

World Cup 2019: Read Kohli’s mind going into India’s opener

S.no World Cup Winning Team Venue
1  June 14th, 1975 West Indies Kennington Oval, London
2 June 21st, 1975 West Indies Lord’s, London
3 June 11th, 1983 West Indies Headingley, Leeds
4 June 18th, 1983 West Indies Lord’s, London
5 March 18th, 1992 Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
6 March 4th, 1996 West Indies Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
7 March 14th, 1996 Australia Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
8 May 30th, 1999 Australia Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
9 March 27th, 2007 Australia Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua


In the inaugural edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup (1975), West Indies lifted the title by defeating Australia by 17 runs at Lords, London. They first won the championship in 1975, under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd. Then in the very next edition (1979) of the ICC World Cup, they won their second title by beating the host (England) by the huge margin of 92 runs at the same venue. In the third edition, they got defeated by the Men in Blues.  West Indies have won two consecutive World Cup title under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd, since then Windies have neither won the World Cup title nor entered in the final.

World Cup history is the clear proof of Australia’s dominance in the World Cup. They first won the championship in 1987, under the captaincy of Allan Border. From 1999 to 2007, Aussies won three consecutive World Cups, once under Steve Waugh and twice under Ricky Ponting. Australia rewrote the history by increasing the tally to five by defeating New Zealand in the 2015 World Cup final on home soil.

Also Read: World Cup 2019: Uber anthem to be played during matches

ICC World Cup: Select Dugout is back on Star Sports Select 1

ICC World Cup LIVE: Catch India’s matches in Inox multiplexes