ICC Cricket World Cup: History, Winners and facts

ICC Cricket World Cup: History, Winners and facts

Cricket World Cup, international cricket Quadrennial championship that is the premier contest in one-day cricket and one of the most-watched sporting events in the world.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is slated from today to 15th July in England and Wales. Nissan, Oppo, MRF Tyres, Booking.com, Emirates, MoneyGram, Bira 91, Uber, Coca-Cola, GoDaddy, Hublot, Wolf Blass, UBP, Royal Stag, Thatchers, Veuve Clicquot, Dream11, Smart Cricket, Golootlo, Britannia, TikTok have come on board as the sponsor of ICC’s most coveted 10 team men’s cricket tournament.

The tournament will feature 10 teams including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, England, Australia, New-Zealand, West Indies, South Africa as well as Afghanistan that has booked their berth by Qualifying in the last year.

This year, the format for the tournament will be a single group of ten teams, with each team playing the other nine teams, and the top four teams progressing to a knockout stage of semi-finals and a final.

This is the fifth time that the England and Wales Cricket Board is hosting the World Cup. The inaugural edition of the ICC Cricket World was also hosted by England in 1975 as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.

Here are results of the ICC Men’s World Cup since its first edition:

Cricket World Cup
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets