Heartbreak for Jonny Bairstow, ECB drops him from central contracts list

Wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow has not been given an England central contract for Test cricket in 2020-21. Bairstow is currently playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) for Sunrisers Hyderabad

Yorkshire’s Bairstow, 31, who was not selected for the summer’s Test series with West Indies and Pakistan, remains contracted for limited-overs cricket.

The selectors have awarded 12 Test Central Contracts and 12 White Ball Central Contracts, as well as four Increment Contracts and three Pace Bowling Development Contracts.

Batsmen Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, and Dom Sibley all receive a Test central contract for the first time off the back of a 12-month period in which all three scored their maiden Test centuries.

All-rounder Tom Curran has been given a white-ball contract, while Kent batsman Joe Denly misses out altogether.

Denly had previously held a limited-overs contract.

Meanwhile, spinner Dom Bess, seamer Chris Jordan and batsman Dawid Malan – previously uncontracted – will receive incremental deals.

The contracts, handed to a total of 23 players, start on 1 October and run for 12 months.

Players on the Test and white-ball contracts will have their salaries, which are calculated by a ranking system based on performance, fitness and other factors, paid in full by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

However, the ECB says there could be an impact on how much players are paid as a result of the financial impact of the coronavirus pandemic, with levels of remuneration currently being finalized.

In addition to Test and White Ball central contracts, selectors can award a limited number of Increment Contracts and Pace Bowling Developmental Contracts
Dom Bess, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, and Jack Leach receive Increment Contracts, with Saqib Mahmood, Ollie Stone, and Craig Overton retaining their Pace Bowling Development Contracts.
Recipients of Test Central Contracts and White Ball Central Contracts have their salaries paid in full by the ECB. Under the structure, players in both formats receive a ‘ranking’ based on their performances on the pitch, as well as a number of other factors, including off-field contribution, fielding, and fitness. Those rankings then correlate with the level of remuneration.
In light of the impact of COVID-19 on the finances of the game, the Team England Player Partnership, on behalf of the players, and the ECB are currently finalising the levels of player remuneration for the next 12 months. A further statement will be made once these discussions have concluded.
The contracts, which cover a 12-month period commencing 1 October 2020, have been awarded to the following players:
Test Central Contracts
James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).
White Ball Central Contracts
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).
Increment Contracts
Dom Bess (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Jack Leach (Somerset).
Pace Bowling Development Contracts
Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Olly Stone (Warwickshire).