Gambhir, Chhetri receive Padma awards

Sunil Chhetri,Gautam Gambhir,Bajrang Punia,Padma Awards,Padma Shri Awards

Indian football team captain Sunil Chhetri and former international cricketer Gautam Gambhir have received the Padma Awards from President Ram Nath Kovind. Archer star Bombayla Devi and basketball player Prashanti Singh were the other sportspersons among the recipients to get the Padma Awards on Saturday.

The awards are conferred in two separate groups. Wrestler Bajrang Punia, chess Harika Dronavalli, kabaddi captain Ajay Thakur and table tennis player Achantha Sharath Kamal were in the earlier batch to receive the Awards.

“This is for all the supporters of Indian cricket and my critics. Both have played a part in my journey…some day will discuss who played more than the other,” said Gambhir in his Twitter post.

President’s office has tweeted the picture of Chhetri, receiving the award from the President.

Bachendri Pal, who became the first Indian woman to reach the summit of Mount Everest in 1984, has been bestowed with the honour for ‘distinguished service of a high order’ was the only sportsperson on the list to be conferred a Padma Bhushan award while the rest were given Padma Shri.

Here is the full list of sports athletes conferred with the Padma Awards this year:

Bachendri Pal (Mountaineering) – Uttarakhand [Padma Bhushan]

Bombayla Devi Laishram (Archery) – Manipur

Prashanti Singh (Basketball) – Uttar Pradesh

Gautam Gambhir (Cricket) – Delhi

Sunil Chhetri(Football) – Telangana

Ajay Thakur (Kabaddi) – Himachal Pradesh

Sharath Kamal (Table Tennis) – Tamil Nadu

Bajrang Punia (Wrestling) – Haryana

Harika Dronavalli (Chess) – Andhra Pradesh

Also Read: Modi to confer the National Youth Parliament Festival Awards to winners

ICC AWARDS: Kohli creates history with clean sweep of three top honours

Divya, Sandeep bag prestigious UP Government sports awards