Furious crowd chants ‘Cheater, Cheater’ after Green Catch controversy, Ponting gets Sydney 2008 reminder
Fans were furious with the third umpire’s decision to give Shubman Gill out after replays could not clearly say whether the Cameron Green too the catch cleanly.
An India vs Australia WTC Final 2023 cannot be without any controversy. It has not been. Cameron Green Catch made all the noise on Day 4 with Shubman Gill departing for 18 after a terrific start. The Oval crowd was not happy as they chanted “cheater, cheater” every time Green came to bowl. On social media, Indian fans were quick to remind former Australia captain Ricky Ponting of his own incident after he defended the umpire’s decision to give Gill out. Ponting claimed a dropped catch to be out in Sydney, 2008.
Was Cameron Green catch clean?
Chasing a big 444-run target, India had a positive start with Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill commanding the passage of play against the new ball. Just when it looked like that India will have a perfect start to the big run chase, Scott Boland managed to induce an edge as Green claimed a terrific catch at the gully region.
However, there were doubts and the on-field umpires were quick to refer the catch to the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough. After carefully viewing multiple replays, the official confirmed that the catch was clean. Despite the decision, both Gill and the Indian skipper expressed their doubts and were not convinced by the ruling.
The reason is that replays could not clearly say whether the ball touched the surface. Images showed that the ball might have kissed the surface as it hung between Green’s index and middle finger.
As per ICC rules, the fielder must be in control of the catch even if some part of the ball touches the surface. From Replays, it was clear that Green was in fact in control of the catch. But it was not clear whether he had little support from the surface. Hence, controversy erupted and the Indian fans felt Gill fell victim to a wrong decision.
Why Ricky Ponting got dragged into it?
During the controversial 2008 Sydney Test, Michael Clarke had taken the catch of Sourav Ganguly in the second innings. While the on-field umpires were not sure whether the catch was clean, as umpires looked at Pointing, the then-Australia captain raised his finger, signalling it was out.
The umpire took the Aussie captain’s words and declared Ganguly out which not only did this leave the fans shocked, but it also left the on-air commentator Sunil Gavaskar fuming.
“When I saw it live, I knew it had carried to him on the full. But I wasn’t sure what the action was after that from all replays we have seen. I actually think some part of the ball did touch the ground and it is the interpretation of the umpire that as long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before the ball hits the ground then it is out,” Ponting explained during commentary stint.
“That must have been what the umpires’ interpretation was and I think that is exactly what happened. It carried probably six or eight inches off the ground then there was another action after that,” he added.
Follow InsideSport on GOOGLE NEWS / Follow IND vs AUS Live Updates with InsideSport.IN.