FIH World Cup 2018: Team India schedule, matches and LIVE updates

Hockey World Cup broadcasting rights,FIH World Cup 2018,Hockey World Cup 2018 schedule,Hockey World Cup 2018 timetable,FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018

The highly publicised and much awaited FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018 starts at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar on November 28. The quadrennial global competition is back in India for the third time. The online ticket sale for the grand opening ceremony of Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup in Bhubaneswar have started from November 20. The current champions of FIH World Cup is Pakistan who have won 4 titles, while Australia is the most recent champion. Previous Hockey World Cup was organized in the Netherlands.

Full schedule and timetable

On the very first day, India will start its campaign against South Africa in pool C, while Belgium will play against Canada in the same Pool. There are total 4 pools in the schedule launched by FIH(International Hockey Federation)- A, B, C and D, every pool contain 4 teams. The teams will play in a league format in the pools, then the winning teams of the pools will directly settle in the Quarters and the 2nd and 3rd team in the respective pool will have to play cross-overs. The winners of cross-over will be promoted to Quarters. The winners of the Quarters will directly enter in semi-finals. Then the winner of semis will play for 1st place and the defeated teams in semis will play for 3rd.


Also Read: ICC World Cup 2019: Full schedule, live streaming, live telecast & TV channel, broadcasting…


Total 16 countries participating in the Hockey World Cup-  India, England, Malaysia, Canada, Pakistan, China, Belgium, Germany, New Zealand, Spain, Ireland, France, Argentina, Netherlands, Australia, South Africa. Earlier 12 countries played the tournament but now the numbers have been expanded to 16. Every pool contains 4 teams Pool A – Argentina, Spain, New Zealand and France, Pool B – Australia, England, Ireland and China, Pool C – Belgium, India, Canada and South Africa and Pool D – Netherlands, Germany, Malaysia and Pakistan.

Telecast and live streaming

The Odisha Hockey World Cup will be broadcast live and exclusive in India by Star Sports, the official media rights holder of HWC 2018 for the Indian Subcontinent. Indian Hockey fans can catch all the live action from the high octane series on Star’s sports cluster channels and its OTT platform Hotstar.

The leading private sector broadcaster will be compelled to share the pie with the national broadcaster Doordarshan.

Also Read: Hockey World Cup 2018 : AR Rahman, SRK starrer official anthem released