ENG vs SL T20I: 5 Fantasy Picks for the upcoming England vs Sri Lanka T20I Series

ENG vs SL T20I: 5 Fantasy Picks for the upcoming England vs Sri Lanka T20I Series: The three-match T20I series between England…

ENG vs SL T20I
@ Twitter | ENG vs SL T20I

ENG vs SL T20I: 5 Fantasy Picks for the upcoming England vs Sri Lanka T20I Series: The three-match T20I series between England and Sri Lanka kickoffs tomorrow with the first T20I scheduled to be played at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff. The Sri Lankan Lions will play three T20Is followed by as many ODIs during their England trip (June 23- July 04).

Here, we will look at five players who can really turn out to be the game-changers in this upcoming T20I series but before that let’s take a look at the head-to-head battle between both sides.

ENG vs SL head-to-head in T20Is

Overall: 09

England won: 05

Sri Lanka won: 04

England vs Sri Lanka Series: ENG vs SL Full Schedule, Full squads, Live Streaming, Date, Time, Venues – All you need to know

Five fantasy Picks for ENG vs SL T20I Series

Dawid Malan – The ICC’s no. 1 ranked T20I batter, Dawid Malan has been exceptional in the recent past for England in the shortest format. In 24 innings, Malan has scored 1003 runs at an average of 50.15 and a strike rate of 144.31. He is the fastest to score 1000 runs in T20Is and will have the onus of scoring runs for the hosts. This will be his first series against Sri Lanka and will be interesting to watch how things pan out for him.

Jason Roy – The English opener has scored 1034 runs in 43 innings at an average of 24.04 and strike rate of 140+. He was in exceptional form against India in the last tour and will be hoping to continue his fine form against Sri Lanka. Jason Roy has scored 111 runs at an average of 37.00, including a fifty against Sri Lanka in 3 T20Is.

Jos Buttler – Jos Buttler averages 47.00 against Sri Lanka in T20Is. He has amassed 188 runs at an average of 47.00 in 6 innings against Sri Lanka at an impressive strike rate of 157.98. He is likely to open the innings for hosts alongside Jason Roy and will be one of the biggest threats for the visitors.

D Gunathilaka – Danushka Gunathilaka has been consistent for Sri Lanka in limited-overs cricket and will be one of the key batters for the visitors. He was the second-leading run-scorer in the 3-match ODI series against Bangladesh and is likely to continue his form in the shortest format. He averages 20.84 in T20Is, scoring 542 runs at a strike rate of 121.79 in 26 innings.

D Chameera – Dushmantha Chameera was the leading wicket-taker in the recently concluded 3-match ODI series against Bangladesh. He has picked up 20 wickets in 22 T20I innings at an economy of 8.34 and will be one of the key bowlers for the visitors.

England vs Sri Lanka T20I full schedule

1st T20I             June 23               Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

2nd T20I            June 24               Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

3rd T20I              June 26               the Rose Bowl Southampton

*1st and 2nd T20Is will start at 10:30 PM IST while 3rd T20I will start at 07:00 PM IST

Also read WTC Final: ‘Not in Southampton again,’ Cricket legends disappointed by ICC over WTC Final venue selection

ENG vs SL Live telecast and streaming details:

The Sony Sports Network is the official broadcasters of the England vs Sri Lanka T20I series in India. The ENG vs SL live telecast will be available on SONY TEN 2 and SONY TEN 3 (in Hindi) channels. Fans can also live stream ENG vs SL on the Sony LIV app

ENG vs SL Squads:


Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

ICC WTC Final: Jasprit Bumrah recalls his bowling days as a youngster, says ‘I used to get angry left, right, and center’

Sri Lanka:

Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama

Share This: