Dream11 IPL 2020 : Big Setback for IPL 2020 title sponsors Dream11, Andhra Pradesh government bans fantasy, online gaming

In a big setback to the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) title sponsors Dream11, the Andhra Pradesh Cabinet has decided to ban online gaming and betting platforms and gave its consent to changes in the AP Gaming Act – 1974, imposing stringent punishment to those charged with gambling. 
Under the new laws, those convicted of playing banned online gaming platforms would be awarded six months of imprisonment, and two years of jail for a repeat conviction.
This means in the home of Sunrisers Hyderabad, no one will be able to participate in any contest on Dream11 or any other fantasy platform. 

On September 25, the Andhra Pradesh government passed an ordinance to amend the Andhra Pradesh Gaming Act 1974. It came into force with immediate effect.

Calling it the Andhra Pradesh Gaming (Amendment) Ordinance, 2020, the government of YS Jaganmohan Reddy prohibited (i) collection or soliciting of bets; (ii) receipt or distribution of winning or prizes in money or otherwise in respect of any wager or bet; (iii) any act which is intended to aid, induce, solicit or facilitate wagering or betting or such collection, soliciting, receipt or distribution and (iv) any act of risking money or playing stakes or otherwise on the result of a game or an event including on a game of skill.

This Ordinance has come as bad news for IPL 2020 title sponsors, Dream11. There are at least three other fantasy cricket operators, armed with huge marketing budgets, who are using sports channels with high TRP ratings due to the IPL and websites to attract consumers to play and win handsome money.

Dream11, paid BCCI INR 222 crores to buy the title rights of IPL 2020, is using several Indian cricketers like MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan, and Rishabh Pant to advertise its fantasy app. 

There are four other fantasy apps that are being endorsed by various other cricketers like BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, Virat Kohli, and Virender Sehwag.