CSA T20 League: Name, logo, teams and icon players revealed

cricket south africa,csa t20 league,Mzansi Super League teams,Mzansi Super League player draft,Mzansi Super League

Cricket South Africa’s ambitious professional league has been named Mzansi Super League. The name, logo, the team identities and the icon players were revealed at the CSA Headquarters in Johannesburg.

THE six Mzansi Super League T20 (#MSLT20) tournament teams, their names and official logos were also unveiled at the Media Briefing at the CSA offices today (Monday).

CSA in a departure from the conventional franchisee-based team ownership had earlier named the six Provincial Associations to own the T20 league’s teams.

Today the identity of the each of the six teams along with their owner State was declared. Cape Town Blitz – PPC Newlands; Durban Heat – Kingsmead; Jozi Stars – Bidvest Wanderers; Nelson Mandela Bay Giants – St George’s Park; Paarl Rocks – Eurolux Boland Park and Tshwane Spartans – Supersport Park Centurion will play in the inaugural season of the CSA’s #MSLT20 League, to run from November 16 to December 16.

The 32-match competition fixtures and tickets schedule will be announced soon.

“It was a thorough and well audited process that led to the six winning bids from our Members as well as the collective contribution from all stakeholders involved that led to the final names and logos which we also had to make sure met our objectives for this event,” said Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Thabang Moroe.

“What was clear throughout this definitive process was that these are completely new entities and names that will operate separately from the current franchise teams. We welcome the six new additions to the South African and international cricket family.”

On Monday, the Draft Matrix was also completed, detailing the steps that will be taken at the highly-anticipated Player Draft that will be held at the Monte Casino Ballroom in Fourways, Johannesburg, on Wednesday, October 17, at 10 am.

The teams heading into this American sports-styled Player Draft will have a pick of the six Proteas players – Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir – alongside the six Marquee players – Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy and Dawid Malan (all England), Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo (both the West Indies) and Rashid Khan (Afghanistan).

“We have received applications from over 200 top international players who expressed interest in playing in this inaugural tournament and will have their names in the hat ahead of the Player Draft process on Wednesday,” Moroe added.

“There were expected challenges in the process, of course, with some players available for a particular period because of other cricket commitment clashes elsewhere, including our Standard Bank Proteas, who also have to fulfil our tour to Australia for a One-Day International series.”

Also Read: CSA T20 league a case of putting cart before the horse