Cricket Year-Ender 2020: 5 big records made by Indians players between 22 yards; Check out

Cricket Year-Ender 2020: The year 2020 was something straight from Christopher Nolan’s movies. The unprecedented outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic in March, which brought the entire world to a halt, and then people just looking forward to leap forward in 2021. While, the majority of the year has been a tough one, it did have some silver linings too, especially in sports. With IPL resuming cricket in India, there have been several big records made in second-half of the year, including two by Virat Kohli.

InsideSport with its new series “Year-Ender 2020” bring to you 5 big records which were broken this year by Indian players.

Also Read:Year-ender 2020: Check the GOOD, BAD and the UGLY moments of Indian Sports in Year 2020 

1) Shikhar Dhawan’s historic consecutive tons in IPL

Delhi Capitals’ opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan on Tuesday became the first player to register consecutive centuries in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Dhawan achieved the feat as he brought up his century against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the ongoing IPL 2020. In the match against KXIP, Dhawan smashed 12 fours and 3 sixes to bring up his century off just 57 balls.

The century was second in a row by the 34-year-old as he smashed an unbeaten ton in his previous match as well, against Chennai Super King (CSK).

2) Yuzvendra Chahal becomes joint-highest wicket-taker for India in T20I

The Indian leg spinner became the joint-highest wicket-taker for India in T20Is alongside pacer Jasprit Bumrah. He has chipped 59 wickets in 45 matches at an average of 24.67.

Player Span Mat Inns Overs Runs Wkts
JJ Bumrah 2016-2020 50 49 179.1 1195 59
YS Chahal 2016-2020 44* 44 171.3 1415 59
R Ashwin 2010-2017 46 46 171.0 1193 52
B Kumar 2012-2019 43 43 154.2 1088 41
Kuldeep Yadav 2017-2020 21 20 75.3 537 39


3) Virat Kohli fastest to reach 7000-run mark in run-chases in ODIs

The Indian skipper amassed 7000 runs in run chases in ODIs and achieved the milestone in his 133rd innings- the fastest ever. Overall, he is ranked second in the unique run-tally list behind Sachin Tendulkar who has scored 8720 runs in 232 innings. Kohli now has a tally of 7018 runs.

4) Virat Kohli fastest to 22,000 international runs 

The ICC Player of the Decade, Kohli reached yet another milestone in his glorious international career during his 87-ball 89 against Australia in the second ODI at the SCG on November 29.

Kohli surpassed the great Sachin Tendulkar to become the fastest to 22000 international runs. He achieved the milestone in just 462 innings. Tendulkar had taken 31 innings more and had reached the milestone in 493 international innings. Brian Lara (511 innings) and Ricky Ponting (514 innings) follow the two Indian superstars.

5) Ravichandran Ashwin surpasses Muttiah Muralitharan

The off-break spinner surpassed Sri Lanka’s spin great Muttiah Muralitharan’s record of most wickets against left-handed batsmen in Test cricket. Ashwin with Josh Hazlewood’s wicket in the Melbourne Test second innings, became the most successful bowler against left-handers. The Indian spinner now has 192 wickets of left-handed batsmen.

Muralitharan has 191 wickets and is now second in the list. He is followed by England’s veteran James Anderson (186), Australia legends  Glenn McGrath (172) and Shane Warne (172) and former Indian skipper Anil Kumble (167).