India tour of Australia : Host announces their squad for India series, Aaron Finch to lead, no place for Nathan Lyon once again

Cricket Australia on Thursday announced the ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming series at home against India next month. Australia have handed a maiden international call-up to all-rounder Cameron Green while veteran Moises Henriques has been recalled.

Injured all-rounder Mitchell Marsh has not been named in either of the squads which will be led by Aaron Finch with Pat Cummins as his deputy.

Described this week by former captain Greg Chappell as the best young player since Ricky Ponting, the 21-year-old Cameron Green talent scored 197 against New South Wales last week following a half-century against South Australia.

“Cameron’s domestic form has been outstanding and he has carried it through for Western Australia this summer,” selectors chairman Trevor Hohns said in a media release on Thursday.

“As a potential player of the future this is an opportunity for him to be part of the squad and build on his experience.”

Henriques meanwhile, has earned a call-up in the national side after 3 years. The New South Wales has been preferred to Mitchell Marsh, who is expected to come back from injury via the Australia A pathway ahead of the four-test series starting in Adelaide on Dec. 17.

Uncapped all-rounder Daniel Sams has been retained in the white-ball squad that toured England, but Tasmania paceman Riley Meredith has been omitted.

Spinner Nathan Lyon’s hopes of playing all three formats have been frustrated again, with Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar handling the slow bowling duties.

Australia play India in three one-day internationals in Sydney and Canberra from Nov. 27, followed by three Twenty20’s from Dec. 4.

Squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam