BCCI Annual Awards: Bumrah International Cricketer of Year

Polly Umrigar Award,BCCI,Jasprit Bumrah,CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award,Sports Business News

India’s fast bowling sensation Jasprit Bumrah has receive the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award for the best international cricketer (2018-19) at the BCCI Annual Awards (Naman) to be held in Mumbai on Sunday night.

He also  received the Dilip Sardesai Award for being India’s leading Test wicket-taker during the year.

The world no.1 ODI bowler made his Test debut during India’s tour of South Africa in January 2018 and hasn’t looked back since. He picked up a five-wicket haul in South Africa, England, Australia and the West Indies becoming the first and only Asian bowler to achieve the feat. He played a stellar role in the historic 2-1 Test series win in Australia that helped India retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy, BCCI stated in a Press release.

Also Read: Bumrah becomes India’s highest wicket-taker in T20s

While Bumrah got the biggest prize in the men’s category, Poonam Yadav claimed the top prize in women’s category. She was awarded the best international cricketer (women). The award will be another feather in the leg spinner’s cap who recently received the Arjuna Award.

Former India captains Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra were presented with Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award and the BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for Women respectively.

A member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, Srikkanth took on the fearsome West Indies fast bowlers and scored an attacking 38, the top individual score in the low-scoring final at the Lord’s. He also captained India and post-retirement served as the chief selector and it was during his tenure that the 2011 World Cup squad was picked.

Anjum is one of the finest batswomen and the first Indian to play 100 WODIs. In a career spanning 17 years, Anjum represented India in four 50-over World Cups and two T20 World Cup (played in 1).

Sourav Ganguly, President, BCCI said, “The BCCI Awards is our way of recognizing the finest on-field performances right from the age group to senior level and also honour our legends. It will be a special evening in Mumbai as we will also have the 7th MAK Pataudi lecture and I am delighted to inform that it will be Virender Sehwag, who will address the gathering.”

Fit-again Bumrah shows his wares at nets

Jay Shah, Hon. Secretary, BCCI said, “The BCCI Awards are an important feature in India’s cricketing calendar, a mélange of aspiration and inspiration. We wanted to make Naman bigger and better and have introduced four new categories – highest run-getter and wicket-takers in WODIs and best international debut men and women – from this year. A total of 25 awards will be presented.”

Arun Singh Dhumal, Hon. Treasurer, BCCI said, “Right from domestic to international level, Indian Cricket has had a memorable 2018-19 season. We have started the year on the right note with Team India completing a convincing series win against Sri Lanka and they will be in attendance. The U19 team is in South Africa for the World Cup and all eyes will be on the stars of tomorrow. It will be a special evening and I congratulate the award winners.”

The complete list of Awardees:

1.  COL. C.K. NAYUDU LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Krishnamachari Srikkanth (Citation, trophy and cheque for ₹25 lakhs).

2.  BCCI LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FOR WOMEN – Anjum Chopra (Citation, trophy and cheque for ₹ 25 lakhs.

3. BCCI SPECIAL AWARD – Dilip Doshi (Citation, trophy and cheque for ₹15 lakhs each).

4. DILIP SARDESAI AWARD – HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN TEST CRICKET- 2018-19 – Cheteshwar Pujara (Trophy and cheque for  ₹ 2 lakhs).

5. DILIP SARDESAI AWARD – HIGHEST WICKETS IN TEST CRICKET- 2018-19 – Jasprit Bumrah (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2 lakhs)

6.  HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN ONE DAY INTERNATIONALS -2018-19- WOMEN – Smriti Mandhana (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2 lakhs)

7.  HIGHEST WICKETS IN ONE DAY INTERNATIONALS – 2018-19 – WOMEN – Jhulan Goswami (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2 lakhs)

8. POLLY UMRIGAR AWARD BEST INTERNATIONAL CRICKETER- MEN – Jasprit Bumrah (Citation, trophy and cheque for  ₹15 lakhs each)

9. BEST INTERNATIONAL CRICKETER – WOMEN – Poonam Yadav (Citation, trophy and cheque for  ₹15 lakhs each)

10. BEST INTERNATIONAL DEBUT – MEN – Mayank Agarwal (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2 lakhs)

11. BEST INTERNATIONAL DEBUT- WOMEN – Shafali Verma (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2 lakhs)

12. LALA AMARNATH AWARD FOR THE BEST ALL-ROUNDER IN THE RANJI TROPHY, 2018-         19 – Shivam Dube of Mumbai C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹5 lakhs)


14. MADHAVRAO SCINDIA AWARD – HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN THE RANJI TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Milind Kumar of Sikkim C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2.5 lakhs)

15. MADHAVRAO SCINDIA AWARD – HIGHEST WICKET-TAKER IN THE RANJI TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Ashutosh Aman of Bihar C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹2.5 lakhs)

16. M.A. CHIDAMBARAM TROPHY – HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN (U23) COL. C K NAYUDU TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Manan Hingrajia of Gujarat C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

17. M.A. CHIDAMBARAM TROPHY – HIGHEST WICKET-TAKER IN (U23) COL. C K NAYUDU TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Sidak Singh of Cricket Association of Pondicherry (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

18. M.A. CHIDAMBARAM TROPHY – HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN (U19) COOCH BEHAR TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Vathsal Govind of Kerala C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

19. M.A. CHIDAMBARAM TROPHY – HIGHEST WICKET-TAKER IN (U19) COOCH BEHAR TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Apurva Anand of Bihar Cricket Association (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

20. JAGMOHAN DALMIYA TROPHY – HIGHEST RUN GETTER IN (U16) VIJAY MERCHANT TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Aryan Hooda of Jharkhand State C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

21. JAGMOHAN DALMIYA TROPHY – HIGHEST WICKET-TAKER IN (U16) VIJAY MERCHANT TROPHY IN 2018-19 – Abhishek Yadav of Jharkhand State C A (Trophy and cheque for ₹1.50 Lakhs)

22. JAGMOHAN DALMIYA TROPHY – BEST WOMAN CRICKETER (SR DOMESTIC) OF 2018-19 (SR WOMEN ONE DAY) – Deepti Sharma of Cricket Association of Bengal (Trophy and cheque for  ₹1.50 Lakhs)

23. JAGMOHAN DALMIYA TROPHY – BEST WOMAN CRICKETER (JR DOMESTIC) OF 2018-19 – Shafali Verma of Haryana C A (Trophy and cheque for  ₹ 1.50 Lakhs)

24. BEST UMPIRE IN DOMESTIC CRICKET IN 2018-19 – Virender Sharma (Trophy and cheque for ₹1.50 Lakhs)


Also Read: Will now get a chance to interact about my bowling with Bumrah: Navdeep Saini