Australian Open: Who gets what from the record A$62.5 million prize money

Australian Open,Australian Open Prize Money,Australian Open 2019,Prize money Australian Open,Grand Slam

Australian Open 2019 will have 14% more cash for the participants at the first Grand Slam of the year. The Australian $ 62.5 million prize purse will ensure that the men’s and women’s singles champions return home with A$4,100,000 each. Any appearance at the Melbourne Park courts will be not less than worth A$ 5,950, the minimum prize purse for the mixed doubles first round exit.

Australian Open Tournament Director CEO Craig Tiley has said the increase was just one way the organisers continued to invest in the playing group and create a sustainable career path for the next tier of players.

“We make no secret of our commitment to looking after the players as well as we possibly can, and ensuring they have a great experience at the Australian Open,” Tiley said.

“The players are the stars of the show. They bring in the crowds and fill the stadiums, they inspire the next generation to pick up a racquet, and the rest of us to always keep trying, and push the boundaries of what is possible.

Also Read: Australian Open 2019 : 10-point tiebreaker in the deciding sets introduced

“For all of these things and more, we invest significant resources into looking after the players, including state-of-the-art facilities, the world’s friendliest player services team and appropriate compensation.

“The majority of these increases will be directed towards the players in qualifying, early rounds and doubles. For example players losing first round in the qualifying event – which is pretty much Grand Slam entry level – will take home $15,000, double the amount previously awarded, and players losing in the first round of the main draw will earn $75,000 in prize money.

“We have a responsibility to improve the conditions for all the players, and ensure tennis offers a viable career path, and this means increasing prize money as well as easing the costs associated with playing the Australian Open,” Tiley continued.

Australian Open 2019 prize money fast facts:

  • First round doubles teams will earn $21,000 up 13.51 percent
  • First round qualifiers earn double 2018 with $15,000
  • First round main draw singles $75,000 up 25 percent on 2018
  • $105,000 for reaching the second round, up from $90,000 in 2018
  • Australian Open 2019 singles champions will take home $4.1 million
  • In 2019, the total Australian Open prize purse is $62,500,000, up 14 percent on AO 2018
  • Australian Open prize money has increased by more than 351 percent or $48.6m in the 20 years since 2001, when it was $13.9m
  • There has been a $22.5m increase since 2015 (five years)
  • Prize money has increased 159 percent since 2011 (10 years).

Here are the per player prize details for men’s and women’s singles from the draw of 126:

Winner: A$4,100,000

Runner-up: A$ 2,050,000

Losing semi-finalists : A$ 920,000

losing quarter-finalists : A$ 460,000

Round 4: A$ 260,000

Round 3: A$ 155,000

Round 2: A$105,000

Round 1: A$75,000

The men and women in the doubles draw 64 will get the following prize money:

Winner: A$750,000

Runner-up: A$375,000

Losing semi-finalists:  A$ 190,000

Losing quarter-finalists: A$ 100,000

Round 3: A$ 55,000

Round 2: A$ 32,500

Round 1: $ 21,000

The men and women in the singles qualifying round for the draw of 128 will return home richer by:

Round 3 : A$ 40,000

Round 2: A$ 25,000

Round 1: A$ 15,000

Mixed Doubles per team prize money in the draw of 32:

Winner: A$ 185,000

Runner-up: A$95,000

Losing semi-finalists : A$ 47,500

Losing quarter-finalists: A$ 23,000

Round 2: A$ 11,500

Round 1: A$ 5,950

This is how the Australian Open Prize Money has progressed in the 21st century:

2001: A$ 13,857,625

2002: A$ 16,500,000

2003: A$ 18,180,000

2004: A$ 19,000,000

2005: A$ 19,100,000

2006: A$ 19,300,000

2007: A$ 20,000,000

2008: A$ 20,600,000

2009: A$ 23,140,000

2010: A$ 24,094,000

2011: A$ 25,005,635

2012: A$ 26,000,000

2013: A$ 30,000,000

2014: A$ 33,000,000

2015: A$ 40,000,000

2016: A$ 44,000,000

2017: A$50,000,000

2018: A$ 55,000,000

2019: A$ 62,500,000