Asia Cup 2018: Hong Kong matches also get One Day International status

icc cricket world cup,cricket world cup,hong kong odi status,Asia Cup,asia cup 2018

Hong Kong will have the One Day International status for all its matches at the Asia Cup 2018 Cricket Championship in Dubai and Abu Dhabi from September 15 to 28.

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that all matches in the upcoming Asia Cup have been awarded the One-Day International status. The ICC has also resolved to grant ODI status to all the matches at the tournaments, which feature teams with ODI and non-ODI status.

“To grant ODI status to all matches in the Asia Cup is a positive step taken by the ICC Board as we continue to take an in-depth look at international cricket structures in relation to our long-term ambition of growing the game and adding to the one billion fans who already follow the sport,” ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said.

Also Read: Asia Cup Live Action: When and where to watch? Schedule, timings and fixtures

“This decision was informed by our review of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier earlier this year where there was a mix of games with and without international status which proved to be confusing for fans. In order to simplify the situation we will extend the ICC Cricket World Cup principle of all matches being ODIs to other tournaments where a number of the teams have ODI status and some not, this includes the Asia Cup and ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers,” Richardson added.

“The fact that these events are open to teams beyond the existing 16 teams that currently have ODI status is important and, accordingly, ensuring all matches are granted ODI status is befitting of the events and just reward for the teams that have qualified. Of course, all T20 matches between ICC Members now have T20I status and we are in the midst of reviewing the whole issue of ODI status, which review should be completed in the next few months.”

Hong Kong are the only team in the Asia Cup without an ODI status and they will play their first round matches against Pakistan and India on 16 and 18 September in Dubai. Apart from Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will take part in the two-week event. These five sides will also feature in the 10-team ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will take place in England and Wales from30 May to 14 July 2019.

Also Read: Star Sports announces line-up non-live, surrounding programming for Asia Cup 2018