100th T20 Win for PAK: Pakistan defeat South Africa in tight chase by 4 wickets, wins series 2-1

Pakistan beat South Africa in 3rd T20 to win series 2-1 – 100th T20 Win for PAK: Pakistan defeated South Africa in…

Pakistan beat South Africa in 3rd T20 to win series 2-1 – 100th T20 Win for PAK: Pakistan defeated South Africa in 3rd T20 by 4 wickets to win the 3 match T20 series against the visitors 2-1. In reply to South Africa’s 164/8, led by captain Babar Azam (44) Pakistan achieved the target in 20th over. 100th T20I win for Pakistan: Pakistan has become the first T20 team to register 100th victory.

Pakistan inning was jolted by 3 quick strikes by Tabrej Shamsi but in the end Pakistan batsman prevailed and Mohammad Nawaz (18) and Hasan Ali (20) survived the anxious moments.

Earlier David Miller brought in some fight on the table with his brilliant 85 (45) studded with 7 sixes for South Africa. Proteas innings was in complete disarray at one point of time as they were less than 50 with 6 wickets down.

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Mohammad Rizwan (WK) lbw b T Shamsi 42 30 5 2 140.00
Haider Ali b T Shamsi 15 13 1 1 115.38
Babar Azam (C) b Dwaine Pretorius 44 30 5 1 146.67
Hussain Talat b T Shamsi 5 6 0 0 83.33
Asif Ali c DA Miller b T Shamsi 7 8 0 0 87.50
Faheem Ashraf c DA Miller b BC Fortuin 10 8 0 1 125.00
Mohammad Nawaz Not out 18 11 2 1 163.64
Hasan Ali Not out 20 7 1 2 285.71
Extra 8 (b 1, w 6, nb 1, lb 0)
Total 169/6 (18.4)
Yet To Bat S Afridi, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood
Bjorn Fortuin 4 0 30 1 7.50
Dwaine Pretorius 2 0 21 1 10.50
JJ Smuts 3 0 20 0 6.67
Andile Phehlukwayo 3.4 0 49 0 13.36
Lutho Sipamla 2 0 23 0 11.50
Tabraiz Shamsi 4 0 25 4 6.25

Pakistan won the toss and opted to field. Pakistan made three changes. IN – Asif Ali, Hasan Ali and Zahid Mahmood (international debut). OUT – Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah and Haris Rauf. They have two leg-spinners in the XI.

For South Africa, Bjorn Fortuin comes in for Glenton Stuurman. So, both teams are expecting spin to play a big role…

South Africa (Playing XI): Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Heinrich Klaasen(w/c), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Bjorn Fortuin, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Haider Ali, Hussain Talat, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Qadir, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Zahid Mahmood

Earlier in 2nd T20 on Saturday, Pretorius scripts historic five-wicket haul; South Africa beats Pakistan by six wickets to level series- South Africa broke a losing streak that stretched back five T20Is to last February and stayed alive in the ongoing series in Pakistan by successfully chasing 145 in foggy conditions in Lahore.

They laid the groundwork for victory after choosing to field for the second successive match and restricting Pakistan to a below-par total, thanks to an outstanding performance by Dwaine Pretorius. He claimed the best figures for South Africa in T20I cricket with 5 for 17, beating Ryan McLaren’s 5 for 19.

Pretorius took a wicket at the start and returned to take four in the last quarter of the innings to keep the hosts to a chaseable total. Reeza Hendricks and Pite van Biljon’s 77-run third-wicket stand set South Africa up for victory, and David Miller sealed it with 22 balls to spare.

Brief Scores: South Africa145 for 4 (Hendricks 42, van Biljon 42, Afridi 2-18) beat Pakistan 144 for 7 (Rizwan 51, Pretorius 5-17) by six wickets

Share This: